the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
User avatar
hubb
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: ÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅ

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by hubb » Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:31 pm

Eventide Space
Is it as good as it's rep?
OGLemon wrote:cowabunga dude

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-music-of-moby
fragments wrote:SWEEEEEEEEE!

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-t ... o-sweeeeee
Johnlenham wrote:evil euroland

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:55 am

@Fragments: did you sell off your Maschine?
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

User avatar
nowaysj
Posts: 23281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:11 am
Location: Mountain Fortress

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by nowaysj » Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:37 am

I've still got mine, and probably would sell if the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ were right.
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
Soundcloud

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:26 am

I've never liked selling stuff, so ill probably have this thing for a long time.

Plus the thing just keeps getting better and better. Although it seems
Like the step sequencer got jacked a bit along the way.
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

User avatar
nowaysj
Posts: 23281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:11 am
Location: Mountain Fortress

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by nowaysj » Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:44 am

At 2.0?
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
Soundcloud

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by fragments » Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:24 pm

Crimsonghost wrote:@Fragments: did you sell off your Maschine?
Nope. I still use Maschine when I work in the box. I've got another six foot table with my computer, monitors, Maschine, turn table etc. I will probably never sell Maschine...its an MKI...and its great for controlling Komplete instruments. Honestly I bought it so cheap (under 300 three years ago) its not worth selling IMO. I also hate license transfers...just went through selling all my Slate software...everything actually ended up going great, but I'm always worried some knob will win the auction and it'll go horribly or I'll end up loosing my licenses and money.

I like Maschine 2.0 personally. But curious, what did happen to the Step Sequencer? I honestly don't use it that way much. I like to play things in and soft quantize them.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:19 pm

I gotcha. It took a while get into it myself, but now I use damn thing on every track. Only problem is one of the encoders is getting sketchy, but whatever.

And it's nothing major, but I just remember being able to have more control from the hardware. Like being able to cycle through pads and a couple other things. Nothing major, and I only noticed it because I happened to be using it last night.
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

User avatar
nowaysj
Posts: 23281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:11 am
Location: Mountain Fortress

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by nowaysj » Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:29 pm

Am kind of re-imagining my studio. Think I'm going to dedicate a laptop to maschine, and just use it like a standalone instrument. I don't have good audio io for that laptop though... is there any legit usb 2x2 out there, with like good enough sound, and dirt cheap?
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
Soundcloud

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by fragments » Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:58 pm

Crimsonghost wrote:I gotcha. It took a while get into it myself, but now I use damn thing on every track. Only problem is one of the encoders is getting sketchy, but whatever.

And it's nothing major, but I just remember being able to have more control from the hardware. Like being able to cycle through pads and a couple other things. Nothing major, and I only noticed it because I happened to be using it last night.
Yea. I went from using an ESX to using Maschine and I didn't gel with Maschine right away. I'm with you, I pretty much use it for something on every track and if I'm working all ITB I always start in stand alone. I hope they don't ever make Maschine a full DAW. I love that its all about just jamming and create loops. I prefer working with audio when I get to my DAW.

I'll have to check out those work flow differences.
nowaysj wrote:Am kind of re-imagining my studio. Think I'm going to dedicate a laptop to maschine, and just use it like a standalone instrument. I don't have good audio io for that laptop though... is there any legit usb 2x2 out there, with like good enough sound, and dirt cheap?
Funny thing is I've actually thought of using Maschine like that. I think the 2i2 Scarlet...which ever the one with MIDI and two ins, two outs. Probably can pick one up pretty cheap if you watch for a deal.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tascam-US-122-U ... 3a9fd55737

Tascam seem to make some super cheapies...
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:29 pm

Another question. How do you like that griffin dock? I've been thinking about getting the iconnectmidi2+ but now I'm not sure.

I use my iPad for all my guitar needs so being able to plug in without any other hardware is a big plus, but the iconnectmid just seem a little more capable. And I can change the 30pin for lighting as needed.

Thoughts?
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by fragments » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:40 pm

Crimsonghost wrote:Another question. How do you like that griffin dock? I've been thinking about getting the iconnectmidi2+ but now I'm not sure.

I use my iPad for all my guitar needs so being able to plug in without any other hardware is a big plus, but the iconnectmid just seem a little more capable. And I can change the 30pin for lighting as needed.

Thoughts?
I'm new to iOS and the iPad. So far, so good. Was totally plug and play for MIDI, MIDI seems tight. I got this dock over iConnect for a few reasons:

1. Ergonomics, holds the iPad at a good angle.
2. Had stereo I/O and MIDI I/O at the right price.
3. Was lighting. I don't own any other iOS devices.
4. The audio I/O will let me use it as an FX unit and synth OTB.

Another part of the decision was that my iPad doesn't leave the studio so I didn't want to spend money on a case/stand AND the iConnect.

I need a full laptop for teaching and my other odd jobs. The *only* reason I happened on an iPad was because I got an Asus tablet as a gift, it crapped out, Best Buy gave me a gift card instead of a replacement, iPad Air was on sale. I say all that just to say, for me the iPad is a total music luxury...I didn't need it...but I only had to spend like 60 bucks to get it...so yea...I guess I went with the Griffin because of the price point per options and the fact that I wouldn't need to buy any other accessories.

Otherwise I think I'd go with the iConnect for sure.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:57 pm

Thanks for that man. The way you described everything is pretty much how I want it set up. Right now it's HUGE pain in the ass to route everything together. I've basically made a modular system just to be able to use the damn thing, and I still haven't be able to utilize the midi side of things yet.

I am a littl bummed that it's lighting OR 30 pin, but I think I can deal with that.

That being said, isn't it nice having an iPad in the studio? I can use the midi over wifi, it's just not great with the latency. And once you start routing audio back into it its badass. Even simple mix tools like vcontrol make everything feel more hands on and interactive.
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by fragments » Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:01 pm

Crimsonghost wrote:Thanks for that man. The way you described everything is pretty much how I want it set up. Right now it's HUGE pain in the ass to route everything together. I've basically made a modular system just to be able to use the damn thing, and I still haven't be able to utilize the midi side of things yet.

I am a littl bummed that it's lighting OR 30 pin, but I think I can deal with that.

That being said, isn't it nice having an iPad in the studio? I can use the midi over wifi, it's just not great with the latency. And once you start routing audio back into it its badass. Even simple mix tools like vcontrol make everything feel more hands on and interactive.
I've only tried sequencing with it thus far, but Genome is basically the tits. No frills...but I either want to program loops and dub versions and record. Otherwise I want to sequence a whole song, and then be able to turn knobs and what not.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
Crimsonghost
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Belly of the beastmode

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Crimsonghost » Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:23 pm

If you want the ultimate control, lemur is the way to go. It's a bit pricy (for an app) and kinda complex but it's absolute control over everything. And they just implemented a sequencer in it also.

I've tried Theysis for ipd and it's a good idea, but it doesn't port well to iOS. It's just too clunky. Although the other sugarbytes apps are nice, turnado in particular.
This space for rent.

Soundcloud

Soundcloud

User avatar
Samuel_L_Damnson
Posts: 3485
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:53 pm
Location: YORKSHIRE!!!!!!!!!!

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by Samuel_L_Damnson » Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:21 am

at the moment. This is all i have.
Image
Soundcloud
Collaborative project with kai li:
http://soundcloud.com/genrli

User avatar
RKM
Posts: 4742
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:57 am

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by RKM » Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:36 am

this is my perma-hype, headphones i do most stuff on tucked away on the right of the picture

[img]-[/img]
Last edited by RKM on Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

CreamLord
Posts: 3943
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:55 pm
Location: Marshy farmland

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by CreamLord » Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:25 am

What's that green shit?
Image
m8son wrote:yh a bit of extra knob fiddling is ok
Anal A$ap....Keep living dat #PLUR life....To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea.... Swag
Instagram Soundcloud

User avatar
RKM
Posts: 4742
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:57 am

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by RKM » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:27 am

scented candle brah, "studio" smells a lot like damp
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
hubb
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: ÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅ

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by hubb » Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:53 pm

looks like guacamole with a byro stuck in it and i know it is :6:
OGLemon wrote:cowabunga dude

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-music-of-moby
fragments wrote:SWEEEEEEEEE!

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-t ... o-sweeeeee
Johnlenham wrote:evil euroland

User avatar
RKM
Posts: 4742
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:57 am

Re: the classic "take a photo of your setup" thread

Post by RKM » Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:05 pm

nope old candle avec vape cigarette
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests