CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Locked
User avatar
DubSac
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by DubSac » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:20 am

my computer keeps overloading i tihnk...im using FL studio 7, and it keeps going all screwy. ...help?

User avatar
collige
Posts: 6316
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:50 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by collige » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:21 am

what vsts are you using when it happens and how many?
Statement of Intent VIP / Sahaquiel v4 single out now on UK Trends.
Soundcloud
Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Mixcloud | Twitter

User avatar
DubSac
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by DubSac » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:23 am

like....itchy synths, one of those with drums and sytrus over it

User avatar
collige
Posts: 6316
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:50 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by collige » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:27 am

-quit and relaunch
-resample and use less plugins
-buy FL for real if it's cracked
-reinstall FL
-upgrade your computer

If none of those work, I dunno what to say.
Statement of Intent VIP / Sahaquiel v4 single out now on UK Trends.
Soundcloud
Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Mixcloud | Twitter

User avatar
DubSac
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by DubSac » Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:12 am

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh okay. yea my FL is cracked, so that might be the problem. thanks man

User avatar
tripaddict
Posts: 2417
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by tripaddict » Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:16 am

more ram :) & decent cpu what r your computer specs ?

User avatar
narcissus
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:28 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by narcissus » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:45 am

DubSac wrote:ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh okay. yea my FL is cracked, so that might be the problem. thanks man
probably not, actually, sounds like a slow PC to me, but you have a problem of a different nature.

User avatar
tripaddict
Posts: 2417
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by tripaddict » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:18 am

u could cut back on fx that drain cpu power

like reverb and delay

User avatar
komanderkin
Posts: 704
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:06 pm
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by komanderkin » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:20 am

cracks have nothing to do with it. :]
every plugin you use takes up cpu and ram resources. depending on your hardware, it can process 10, 20 or 423 plugins at the same time, but not infinitely many. also, some plugins take up more resoursces than others. i'm not sure if itchy synths are too cpu friendly really. :?
and yeah, effects like reverbs and delays use a shitload of cpu, so if you want to use a reverb on multiple sounds, put a reverb on a bus, and send to it. don't slap a reverb on every channel.
so experiment with your pc a little, find some lower cpu plugins and make yourself a comfortable working environment. i sound like a grandmother.

User avatar
darkmatteruk
Posts: 2684
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:55 am

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by darkmatteruk » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:57 am

might sound obvious, but regular defrags help

also, i use a prog called one click maintenance that helps keep my system running nice

this might have allready been mentioned, but if things start getting too much, bounce sounds down instead of having loads of plugs on the go
Last edited by darkmatteruk on Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
grooki
Posts: 1804
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Melbourne - b town
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by grooki » Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:49 pm

Sytrus uses a shitload of CPU. Like someone else said, export the sytrus parts and play them as wav files.

User avatar
dreadheaded
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:35 am

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by dreadheaded » Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:19 pm

komanderkin wrote:cracks have nothing to do with it. :]


this is completley true, infact more often then not, cracked software runs better

cubase SX3 almost half the code was copy protection and when it was eventually cracked the cracked version was faster and much more stable then stienbergs paid version

same thing goes for cubase 5 just not quite as badly as only around 25% of the code was copy protection in that

all this is what lead to the rumours of H20 being paid a 7 figure settlement to stop cracking stienberg, but i dont think thats true


oh and it looks like you could just not have enough cpu power to run all the vsts you want im afraid
http://soundcloud.com/dreadheaded
Soundcloud
JFK wrote:
Depone wrote:Your all gay...
Says the guy with the penis shaped tune in his sig..... :lol: Dont pretend you didnt do that on purpose Dep!

deadly_habit
Posts: 22980
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 am
Location: MURRICA

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by deadly_habit » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:11 pm

some cracked plugins do take up more resources system wise to get around security algorithms so it's a double edged sword
that could be an issue.
bounce it down multitrack wise and work from there :wink:

User avatar
tripaddict
Posts: 2417
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by tripaddict » Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm

deadly habit wrote:some cracked plugins do take up more resources system wise to get around security algorithms so it's a double edged sword
that could be an issue.
bounce it down multitrack wise and work from there :wink:
i doubt this very much

User avatar
DubSac
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by DubSac » Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:50 pm

yea, i was using a shitload of plugins. thats probably the problem, plus the computer is kinda crappy. ill get some more ram

User avatar
drokkr
Posts: 7128
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by drokkr » Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:11 pm

grooki wrote:Sytrus uses a shitload of CPU. Like someone else said, export the sytrus parts and play them as wav files.

jaydot
Posts: 5860
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Your place or hers?

Re: CPU IS OVERLOADING! WHY?

Post by jaydot » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:31 pm

Well mine does that but it's cos my RAM is not very much,
Soundcloud

Soundcloud

tweet @jaydotdubstep

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests