Special Announcement: We have migrated to a new forum platform community.dsf.ninja. The old forum is locked, but it will remain open for reading. Read more.

power amp

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum

Postby t1123 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:31 pm

I have a pair of pa speakers that have 12'' subs, tweeters, 150w rms and have 1/4 jack connections. That is all I know about them so far. I need an amp and Im fairly new to this technical side of things. I came across this amp on ebay (link below) and Im wondering whether or not it will work with the speakers.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320722959428&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_876wt_1141

Pics of the speakers below if that is helpful.
Image
Image

Cheers for any help.
t1123
 
Posts:
3
Joined:
Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:01 pm
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby Ennayess » Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:08 am

yes, looks like it should all work
User avatar
Ennayess
 
Posts:
772
Joined:
Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:41 pm
Location:
Gabberdeen
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby t1123 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:37 am

Great cheers. What cables would i need?
t1123
 
Posts:
3
Joined:
Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:01 pm
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby vertx » Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:54 am

1/4'' TRS but I'm thinking if they take TRS they are powered speakers already??
User avatar
vertx
 
Posts:
726
Joined:
Tue May 18, 2010 1:31 am
Location:
➫ ➬ ➩ ✈
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby RandoRando » Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:22 am

open it up and see if theres a amp inside or if its just a box.
User avatar
RandoRando
 
Posts:
3042
Joined:
Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:26 am
Location:
CA, United States of America
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
1 time

Postby t1123 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:56 pm

Opened up the back and as far as i can tell its a passive speaker. The only thing there was is what im guessing is a crossover unit on the back of the jack connection as its far to small to be an amp! (pics below)
Image
Image
t1123
 
Posts:
3
Joined:
Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:01 pm
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby RandoRando » Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:21 pm

^^^those are definitely active, those amps must be at least 2500 watts rms in each speaker.























i meant crossovers, those are degfinately crossovers, lol.

how good shape are the actual speakers in? no cracked surrounds and dustcap is still holding on good? you should check on the spider and voice coil as well to make sure they are nice and shiny still. and not black
User avatar
RandoRando
 
Posts:
3042
Joined:
Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:26 am
Location:
CA, United States of America
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
1 time

Postby vertx » Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:54 am

Wow that's pretty cool, I always assumed passive speakers needed some sort of copper wire.
User avatar
vertx
 
Posts:
726
Joined:
Tue May 18, 2010 1:31 am
Location:
➫ ➬ ➩ ✈
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby RandoRando » Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:12 am

vertx wrote:Wow that's pretty cool, I always assumed passive speakers needed some sort of copper wire.

They are usually already wired uP inside. And those are copper, (is speaker wire copper? ) anyways, it's just a real small gauge wire inside the box.
User avatar
RandoRando
 
Posts:
3042
Joined:
Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:26 am
Location:
CA, United States of America
Has Bigged up!:
0 time
Been Bigged up!:
1 time

This forum is locked. Continue the discussion by creating a new topic on The New Dubstep Forum.

Return to Production, Hardware & Technical