Best Way To Optimize CPU

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Temo
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:59 pm

Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Temo » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:29 am

I'm sure we all have the problem of not being able to finish tunes due to cpu overload, so whats the best thing to do?

Would it be better to add RAM to my current pc, or buy a new one enitrely?

Image

User avatar
Sexual_Chocolate
Posts: 17019
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Label A City

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Sexual_Chocolate » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:53 am

build your own.

cheaper & helps in future-proofing your pc.
Laszlo wrote:and yay, upon imparting his knowledge to his fellow Ninjas, Nevalo spoke wisely that when aggrieved by a woman thou shalt put it in her bum.
Soundcloud
https://labelarecs.bandcamp.com

Attila
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:16 am

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Attila » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:21 am

Woah that's a weak rig. 1 gig of RAM and a dual core that doesn't hit 2ghz?

If that was all I had I'd have to bounce or freeze everything.

User avatar
ill mindset
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:11 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by ill mindset » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:49 am

yeah man, you may as well get a new computer. That CPU is not going to allow you to do much of anything without a whole lot of frustration. I have 2.75 Gig and 3.0 GHz and I am hating life with it. W need more processing power!!!!

Mindforce
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:10 am
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Mindforce » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:58 am

My laptop has 4.00gb ram and 2.10GHz processor but I usually don't have any problems. If you're worried about overload you could also close all background programs (especially anti-virus programs as they consume shitloads of CPU behind your back). And when I used to do pc gaming I used Vista Services Optimizer which basically pemporarily disampled all background programs and services automatically, network home sharing, changed the windows themes and did some other shit to all majorly reduce CPU usage from anything besides your main applicalion (in my case, Battlefield 2142). I haven't tried using it since ditching gaming and starting to produce, but that's cos I haven't had any problems with CPU overload.

But if you really wanna take all easy measures to reducing CPU load in the short term you could try that.
Image

User avatar
Electric_Head
Posts: 16958
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:59 am
Location: South of Africa
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Electric_Head » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:01 am

build a new one
Image ImageImage Image
Image

Fauster
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 4:18 am

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Fauster » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:09 am

Invest in a new computer. I'm surprised the one you have currently is able to run anything.

VirtualMark
Posts: 1821
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 12:15 am
Location: UK

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by VirtualMark » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:29 am

That computer is slower than my 4 year old laptop(2.5ghz dual core, 4gb ram), and i find working on the laptop a bit limiting now. Going to upgrade to an i7 system, i'd suggest you do the same. A new i7 or i5 system would literally blow yours out of the water, you won't be disappointed.

It just depends on your budget really, but i personally wouldn't bother trying to upgrade that system as it'd be more cost effective to get a brand new system.

User avatar
Electric_Head
Posts: 16958
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:59 am
Location: South of Africa
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Electric_Head » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:10 am

I don't think upgrade is even an option.
You can probably go to Quad core max with the mb.
You ideally want to buy an i9 compatible mb.
Which will naturally extend your upgrade possibilities in future.
Always be proactive with your purchases.
Image ImageImage Image
Image

User avatar
ARTFX
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:01 am
Location: Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by ARTFX » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:25 am

Yeah build a new one from the ground up, much cheaper and probably you'll end up with a better computer. I know work on my AMD 6 Phenom II six-core with 3.2 Ghz for each core. With that I also have 8Gb of RAM right now but going to upgrade to 12 since having 2Gb for each processor core is the ideal setup.
Image
CLICK ME!

Soundcloud

spotofthedead
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:39 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by spotofthedead » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:05 pm

If you have the means to upgrade then do so. If not use what you have the best you can. Don't let low CPU stand in the way of your music. I honestly have a piece of junk single core 2gb ram emachines. It runs fl 9 and ableton 8 pretty well to a certain point. I resample a lot to begin with, but that helps my CPU a lot. However resampling may or may not add a quality to the audio which you may or may not want. I am a firm believer in the philosphy of "Its not what you have, but how well you can use what you do have." I am still learning but from what i understand most of the pros don't use huge effects chains on every track. If a ton of effects are desired resampling is used. If you start choking out your pc, figure out why. Usually it is due to things you can minimize virtually, rather than change machines. I think people focus too much on specs and shiny new things. Back in the day you would have so much less than even the crappiest pc with the most generic daw, unless you where big time.

User avatar
Electric_Head
Posts: 16958
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:59 am
Location: South of Africa
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Electric_Head » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:12 pm

spotofthedead - good points
I think we all just assumed you were able to upgrade.
If it isn't an option then there are many options.

Get Windows xp lite.
Remove all non-essential applications from startup.
Within your daw you would essentially bounce all active synths to wav to free up resources.
Bounce entire sections of tunes and rebuild them as blocks.
etc.
Image ImageImage Image
Image

User avatar
Sparxy
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:26 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Sparxy » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:26 pm

I produce all my tunes on a machine of a similar spec to yours. Having a sick computer helps but it isn't the be-all and end-all. I don't have to freeze or bounce much really. Bouncing things does have its advantages anyway...

You could at least stick some more RAM in though and you could probably do a bit more with it for a while. I'm planning on building a new PC when I have some cash at the end of the summer.

Reversed
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:04 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Reversed » Mon Jun 18, 2012 1:10 pm

Yep, that PC is definitely a few decades too old ;)
Seriously though, in order to increase performance the following things help a LOT:
- Be careful about reverb! Reverb is a mechanic that has a lot of layers and requires a lot fo processing power, even when there is no signal going through it, so be careful with for example huge sized reverbs that have a wet of ~5%. Those take up a LOT of CPU power.
- Unison of course. Don't ever go above unison 4 if it doesn't give the sound some special characteristics that you need, bounce it if so. This applies for any synth
- Don't leave your synth group in your DAW too cluttered, again: any synths you have on your project that has Reverb in itself or in a mixer state that it's connected to, WILL take up a lot of CPU.

These things don't apply for me anymore since i have a brand-new high-end laptop with an Ivy-Bridge i7, 8GB ram, and a SSD with all my VSTs on it :corndance:
Good luck!

Temo
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Temo » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:17 am

Thanks for all the replies,

Are there any suggestions as to what new laptop/pcs to be looking at in particular, and even in terms of the difference between laptops and pcs and how performance and price correlate?
Last edited by Temo on Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Temo
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:59 pm

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Temo » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:18 am

doublay

User avatar
NinjaEdit
Posts: 1603
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:16 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by NinjaEdit » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:50 am

I can produce on my 1GB netbook. I just bounce/render/freeze all the time.

skoomaaa
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by skoomaaa » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:46 am

It all depends on what your budget is. If you want help I could come up with a few systems. Also do you want a desktop or a laptop?
Hi. I was here, am present, and am currently absent minded.

User avatar
Electric_Head
Posts: 16958
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:59 am
Location: South of Africa
Contact:

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by Electric_Head » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:06 pm

Desktop, go i5 or i7 but get an mb that can go beyond.
8gb minimum
Image ImageImage Image
Image

skoomaaa
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: Best Way To Optimize CPU

Post by skoomaaa » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:53 pm

Electric_Head wrote:Desktop, go i5 or i7 but get an mb that can go beyond.
8gb minimum
That but 6gb is plenty(you can always upgrade), also an ssd helps a LOT but a fast (7200rpm minimal) normal hard drive works too
Hi. I was here, am present, and am currently absent minded.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests