Starting out, what HW to look at for the wife and I

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
beefcake187

Starting out, what HW to look at for the wife and I

Post by beefcake187 » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:50 pm

Ive read and read and read and I really appreciate all the FAQS and everything however I was wondering if anyone ever had to approach dubstep from the perspective of a husband and wife getting started together. I have zero music background with a considerable amount of technical knowledge. My wife has taken years of piano lessons and can play quite well, yet cannot install printer drivers.My PC hardware is exceptional, I have Abelton Live, and I need to know what to add for hardware. We have a MIDI mic for our daughter to add vocals.

I was looking at this originally for myself but now am thinking it would be better suited for my wife -

Akai Pro MKP Mini ~$70 (possibly thinking going up to larger keyboard, but this should be good for now esp. considering the other features)
http://www.amazon.com/Akai-Pro-MPK-mini/dp/B00466HM28

My cousin sent me these two links, and thinks that I would like them as I have no musical background and am not interested in formal training-

Novation Launchpad $120 (I want one just from watching the videos but it looks quite confusing)
http://www.amazon.com/Novation-Launchpa ... n+lauchpad

Midi Fighter Classic $125
https://store.djtechtools.com/midi-fighter.html

And then it seems like we would need some thing like this to mix everything into one sound and into an EQ or amp-