Cutting waveforms and transients

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Locked
DimensionX
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:16 am

Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by DimensionX » Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:25 am

Where are you supposed to cut waveforms? in ableton is it supposed to be on the middle line? and if thats the case how do you move the bottom or top waveform alone? (im assuming thats right and left pan?

In this example I can match the top waveform to the middle of the top line with the next part of the waveform slightly lower so it's right against the beginning of the bar:

Image

But then when I move the dB up to say 20, that part that was matched up to the top line is now not matched:

Image

I think I've been doing it all wrong I am trying to do it visually then aurally and if it doesn't sound good I usually move it till it sounds good but then the visual doesn't look very nice...

As for transients.. How do you identify/locate them? Whenever I zoom in to see a spike that is easier to see when not zoomed it it just stretches out so its hard to find where it starts, and then we are back to the problem where if I do find a start and I turn the dB up, it's no longer matched up with the top or bottom line....

I feel like such a noob but I guess I've never really asked about it till now and everytime I try to read a book I can't understand the way the people communicate because Im not very smart like them, I can only understand in simple terms and its hard to find someone in the audio world who is willing to teach me on my level

Sometimes I think im a redneck or something T_T

_Agu_
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by _Agu_ » Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:54 am

Where are you supposed to cut waveforms? in ableton is it supposed to be on the middle line?
If you want to slice the sample without having to add tiny fade-ins, cut at 0db (when the wave crosses the middle line). Basically, you can cut it anywhere you want, but to avoid any clicky artifacts, you should add a small fade-in to make it start from 0db.
and if thats the case how do you move the bottom or top waveform alone? (im assuming thats right and left pan?
Yeah it's left channel and right channel. If the waveform is identical on both channels, the sound is mono. I use "Haas-effect" all the time to make mono sounds stereo (copy the mono sound, pan another 100% left and other one 100% right and then slightly move one of the waveforms in the grid). If there really isn't an option for making edits to only one channel in Ableton (I'm on Logic myself), using any sample delay-plugin is another way. There's other ways too, but these are the easiest ones.
But then when I move the dB up to say 20, that part that was matched up to the top line is now not matched
It's not matched in the first pic either. It's the same waveform, just looks different because it's "zoomed in".
As for transients.. How do you identify/locate them? Whenever I zoom in to see a spike that is easier to see when not zoomed it it just stretches out so its hard to find where it starts, and then we are back to the problem where if I do find a start and I turn the dB up, it's no longer matched up with the top or bottom line....
Many audio editors have "detect transients" button somewhere. That's not the whole story tho. IMO manually finding your transient without using your ears sucks ass. Spike you see is not necessarily a clicky transient. Many times you have a kick and you look at the waveform and see that it looks "soft". It starts out smoothly. You think it's not right and you add transient shaper there's make the transient equally big so the sample starts with it's "full power". Then when you play it, there's just really annoying high end click that kills your ears in the club. Your kick isn't any bigger. I just use my ears. Apart from extreme cases, You can't really tell if your drums have slightly too soft or too hard transient without playing them in the context.
Last edited by _Agu_ on Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Samuel_L_Damnson
Posts: 3485
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:53 pm
Location: YORKSHIRE!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by Samuel_L_Damnson » Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:34 am

its best to cut at a zero crossing point. I.e where the wave is at 0 amplitude (which is actually the straight horizontal line in the middle) that way u wont get unwanted pops and things.
i usually cut at close to the the highest peak as i can without actually being on it. this just means that when u trigger the midi that's exactly when the sound will be played. (within reason) (pardon the pun)
Soundcloud
Collaborative project with kai li:
http://soundcloud.com/genrli

User avatar
Samuel_L_Damnson
Posts: 3485
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:53 pm
Location: YORKSHIRE!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by Samuel_L_Damnson » Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:35 am

just realised agu said all this already! lol
Soundcloud
Collaborative project with kai li:
http://soundcloud.com/genrli

User avatar
nowaysj
Posts: 23281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:11 am
Location: Mountain Fortress

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by nowaysj » Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:10 pm

Have to add little fades if you can't find a good zero crossing next to your transient. I know you can do this in live, but I don't know where you can do it. You should be able to do it in an audio editor. Use Lives. Sorry that was a snide joke.
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
Soundcloud

User avatar
RKM
Posts: 4742
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:57 am

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by RKM » Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:10 pm

i was meaning to ask this, always get those little pops and clicks on samples

safe
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
cyclopian
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:28 pm
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by cyclopian » Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:44 pm

You can easily add envelopes with the little "E" button at the bottom of the 'clips' tab which goes into an envelope 'mode'
:middlefinger:

User avatar
mks
Posts: 4152
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Cutting waveforms and transients

Post by mks » Sat Mar 28, 2015 2:05 am

I cut at the beginning of the waveform, using my ears to hear where the transient starts and adjust to avoid any clicks or pops.

Don't over think it, just listen.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests