Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Locked
DimensionX
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:16 am

Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by DimensionX » Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:58 am

I'm looking for a piece of hardware (preferably portable/battery powered but not necessary) that can change the tempo of whatever I put into it, does anyone know of anything? Please no software!

User avatar
Sharmaji
Posts: 5179
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:03 pm
Location: Brooklyn NYC
Contact:

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by Sharmaji » Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:27 pm

When recycle came along in... 2000? 2001? it was a godsend because historically, to change tempo, you had to slice stuff by ear/hand and then sequence in order to change tempo via a sampler.

Any sampler can change the tempo of something-- you just speed it up or slow it down.

If you want to use a hardware sampler to change the speed of something but keep the pitch, then you need a 3rd, software-based, step.
twitter.com/sharmabeats
twitter.com/SubSwara
subswara.com
myspace.com/davesharma
Low Motion Records, Soul Motive, TKG, Daly City, Mercury UK

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by fragments » Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:14 pm

Maybe a good looper. Maybe. And then you are going to get pitch change as well.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by AxeD » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:15 pm

Yeah this is one of the trickiest things to do when it comes to computing power.
Assuming you want to maintain pitch. I like Pro Tools' algorithms.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

knobgoblin
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:40 am
Location: Bay Area
Contact:

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by knobgoblin » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:39 pm

Elektron octatrack will do this and a lot more besides. Pricey but one of the ultimate live machines

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by AxeD » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:42 pm

Oh yeah, gut schout! I heard it's quite good at it too.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

knobgoblin
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:40 am
Location: Bay Area
Contact:

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by knobgoblin » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:52 pm

Yup. I know a few people who dj with them, combining full tracks, loops and one shot samples sequenced on the fly. Octatrack keeps everything synced perfectly, even thru tempo changing madness.

DimensionX
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by DimensionX » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:02 am

AxeD wrote:Oh yeah, gut schout! I heard it's quite good at it too.
gut schout? huh?...

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by AxeD » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:49 am

That's good shout in German.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

DimensionX
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by DimensionX » Sat Apr 25, 2015 3:27 am

Oh haha!

Yeah Octatrack got me drooling @_@

User avatar
nowaysj
Posts: 23281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:11 am
Location: Mountain Fortress

Re: Hardware/Pedal/etc that changes tempo

Post by nowaysj » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:36 am

Mc909, the old Irish lad, he can change pitch with tempo, or pitch without tempo, or tempo without pitch, and as easily as a turntable pitch adjust. Quite a lad that Mc909.
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
Soundcloud

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests