brag up your soft sequencer

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
gray47
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:06 am
Location: South Korea

brag up your soft sequencer

Post by gray47 » Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:43 am

i was using Audiomulch for awhile but the developer seems adamant about not implementing a sequencer for VSTi... this sucks a bit as you might imagine.

it's a good tool but in some ways, the lack of a VSTi sequencer, it is a bit like reinventing the wheel.

i've used Fruity in the past and found it OK but it was a ware and i felt a bit bad about that... so i moved on to AM which is cool, especially the modular routing aspect...

i tried Renoise and found the idea intriguing but couldn't wrap my head around the interface...

Reason looks good too but it seems they don't allow outside VST & VSTi that sucks a bit... this might lend more focus though to learning the interface and all the knobs and shit really emulate an actual studio...

i've got some hardware too but it's pretty outdated and again... like reinventing the wheel a lot of the time

so, yeah, brag up your sequencer if you will

:?:

User avatar
lilt
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:19 am
Location: auckland, new zealand

Post by lilt » Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:51 am


manray
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:09 am

Post by manray » Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:57 am

Mac = Logic
PC = Cubase

I started on Fruit Loops 1! Progressed to Reason and then eventually onto Logic 5.5 on the PC. That is well outdated now and so i switched to Cubase SX3 which i am using now for main production but i also use Logic 7 on a regular basis in another studio.

Personally i think Cubase/Logic are the best sequencers out there. They do have quite a steep learning curve and you do need a good collection of VSTi's to get anything good out of it. Forget the crap that it comes with!

The good bit is that there are thousands of good VST's out there giving you a huge arsenal of sounds to use in your music.

If you dont get on with Cubase/Logic then i would suggest trying Reason4. It's gotten alot better since Version1 and there are alot of people turning out some sick stuff with it. I'm afraid though the lack of VST support kills it for me.

User avatar
lilt
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:19 am
Location: auckland, new zealand

Post by lilt » Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:02 am

reaper is a donation-ware cubase
(actually better imo)

User avatar
AFL
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 5:31 am
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Contact:

Re: brag up your soft sequencer

Post by AFL » Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:43 am

gray47 wrote: Reason looks good too but it seems they don't allow outside VST & VSTi that sucks a bit... this might lend more focus though to learning the interface and all the knobs and shit really emulate an actual studio...
Great thing about that is that you can use the "Rewire" function in Reason to use it and something like Abelton at the same time. Or Reason and Cubase, etc etc. Therefore allowing you to use the VST capabilities of another program in tandem with Reasons greatness.

User avatar
future producer
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:48 pm

Post by future producer » Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:31 pm

I used to use FL Studio but I ended up stopping using it coz I wasn't really happy with it. I then brought Orion Platinum but that was quite buggy and the sequencer was mega basic, not a bad host though. Now I am using Cubase SE 3 and probably won't be using anything else for a long time.

If I didn't use Cubase then I'd would without a doubt be using Reaper.
Reach for the lasers, save as fuck.

manray
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:09 am

Re: brag up your soft sequencer

Post by manray » Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:42 pm

AFL wrote:
gray47 wrote: Reason looks good too but it seems they don't allow outside VST & VSTi that sucks a bit... this might lend more focus though to learning the interface and all the knobs and shit really emulate an actual studio...
Great thing about that is that you can use the "Rewire" function in Reason to use it and something like Abelton at the same time. Or Reason and Cubase, etc etc. Therefore allowing you to use the VST capabilities of another program in tandem with Reasons greatness.
don't see why people do this. might as well ditch cubase and go straight to cubase.

gray47
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:06 am
Location: South Korea

Post by gray47 » Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:18 pm

no one for Renoise? i heard the halcyon days of Jungle are due to trackers... didn't/doesn't Aphrodite use Atari and a tracker for wobble...

i dunno fer sure so i ask?

i am leaning towards Renoise i guess... i was hoping for some push in that direction...

:P

if no Renoise... why not Renoise?

psynaptek
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:25 pm

renoise is bayd-ass

Post by psynaptek » Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:36 pm

have been messing around with logic and ableton until recently. came across Renoise (can't remember how) and decided to look into it a bit more. downloaded the demo and dragged my feet through the tutorials. the whole thing's a bit of a headf*ck, specially if you're used to looking at horizontally scrolling sequencers.

still got a long way to go but Renoise is definitely my sequencer of choice. clean gui, no floating windows, master spectrum analyzer, you can program some pretty mad stuff with the effect column + the forums are well useful.

only gripe is it doesnt come with any internal instruments but i mostly use third party stuff anyhow.

believe Vaccine and Intex Systems use Renoise for tune making.. could be wrong.

User avatar
little boh peep
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: renoise is bayd-ass

Post by little boh peep » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:04 pm

psynaptek wrote:believe Vaccine and Intex Systems use Renoise for tune making.. could be wrong.
No, you're right. :)

I've never used anything other than Renoise, so the interface is like second nature. Really can't say enough nice things about that program, I've not once felt limited using it. Cubase and Reason are like Sanskrit to me.

martello
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by martello » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:16 pm

Cubase 4.1

b-lam
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:23 am

Post by b-lam » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:39 pm

i know there's those who'll knock it's summing quality but ableton is top choice for me, just because it's so much fun to use! just the fact u can make the tracks out of clips in session view and jam an arrangement dropping bits in when you feel it's right and then switch to arrangement view and tweak it...feels so natural for me to do it this way.

really like the routing and effects racks too.

User avatar
thesynthesist
Posts: 500
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: the Right side of Computo's brain...
Contact:

Post by thesynthesist » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:57 pm

B-LAM wrote:i know there's those who'll knock it's summing quality but ableton is top choice for me, just because it's so much fun to use! just the fact u can make the tracks out of clips in session view and jam an arrangement dropping bits in when you feel it's right and then switch to arrangement view and tweak it...feels so natural for me to do it this way.

really like the routing and effects racks too.
Just dont bounce tracks...

Rerecord the master onto an audio track, and you wont have the summing issues that come into play in the rendering process.

two oh one
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:30 am
Location: Croydon ---> Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by two oh one » Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:16 pm

I do everything in Octamed on the Amiga.
Image
Image
Ahier wrote: I like to push lego up cat bums

User avatar
auan
Posts: 1172
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Glasgow G11
Contact:

Post by auan » Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:46 pm

thesynthesist wrote:
B-LAM wrote:i know there's those who'll knock it's summing quality but ableton is top choice for me, just because it's so much fun to use! just the fact u can make the tracks out of clips in session view and jam an arrangement dropping bits in when you feel it's right and then switch to arrangement view and tweak it...feels so natural for me to do it this way.

really like the routing and effects racks too.
Just dont bounce tracks...

Rerecord the master onto an audio track, and you wont have the summing issues that come into play in the rendering process.
Just love Ableton's ability to help you get the bare bones of a track down straight away, but is powerful enough to let you go in and tweak it up after.
Image

manray
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:09 am

Post by manray » Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:47 pm

Renoise is fucked. I know someon who knows it inside and out but plop him on Cubase and he's lost as fuck. I rather invest my time in Cubase/Logic because you know that they are the standard for all sequencers. You know you wont have any problems if you learn them.

misk
Posts: 5525
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:40 am
Location: East Coast Soon!
Contact:

Post by misk » Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:12 pm

renoise... or should i say.. "ren-wah-zee"? :lol:

b-lam
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:23 am

Post by b-lam » Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:14 pm

Auan wrote:
thesynthesist wrote:
B-LAM wrote:i know there's those who'll knock it's summing quality but ableton is top choice for me, just because it's so much fun to use! just the fact u can make the tracks out of clips in session view and jam an arrangement dropping bits in when you feel it's right and then switch to arrangement view and tweak it...feels so natural for me to do it this way.

really like the routing and effects racks too.
Just dont bounce tracks...

Rerecord the master onto an audio track, and you wont have the summing issues that come into play in the rendering process.
Just love Ableton's ability to help you get the bare bones of a track down straight away, but is powerful enough to let you go in and tweak it up after.
innit, the first stages of making a tune should be eeeasy, used to be on cubase and it just frustrated me that simple stuff took so long, ableton suits me much better.

manray
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:09 am

Post by manray » Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:47 pm

B-LAM wrote:
Auan wrote: innit, the first stages of making a tune should be eeeasy, used to be on cubase and it just frustrated me that simple stuff took so long, ableton suits me much better.
Like what though? I can get a beat going in 1 minute. Easy is relative, if you get used to it then it's easy!

whineo
Posts: 1736
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:32 pm
Location: ox

Post by whineo » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:18 am

thesynthesist wrote:
Just dont bounce tracks...

Rerecord the master onto an audio track, and you wont have the summing issues that come into play in the rendering process.
I believe the summing issues have been sorted in Live 7
..although I have'nt checked myself ...

Using Ableton and Logic .. love them both.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests