bedroom producers (software)

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
gauche
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:42 pm
Location: scotland

bedroom producers (software)

Post by gauche » Tue Jun 27, 2006 7:56 pm

all you wannabe bedroom dubstep producers, what setup are you guys using? i've tried my hands at both sony acid and fruity loops and neither have impressed me to be fair, wondering what everyone else is feeling? i quite liked using sony sound forge bar the fact it limited me to only taking in stuff instead of me messing around and creating, i prefer to produce it from start to finish instead of taking in samples left right.. ideas, suggestions, what you guys using and the likes, welcome

any idea what skream is using? hardware/software wise? that guy is filth. big ups

pk-
Posts: 4367
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:53 pm
Location: SE15
Contact:

Post by pk- » Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:15 pm

i use fruityloops because it was the first thing i picked up after messing around on ReBirth for a week and i know my way around it fairly well by now. i couldn't imagine switching to something else, despite whatever extra features it had, because i'd get far too frustrated trying to learn it.

sticking to whatever floats your boat is probably the right way to go about things

shonky
Posts: 9754
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:31 pm

Post by shonky » Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:24 pm

Go for whatever you find easiest to work with and that gives you the results that sound good to you. I ended up using Logic, which has got loads of options but is a very steep learning curve - doubt I'm even using a tenth of it's potential.

Reason seems pretty user-friendly but you can't use VST's, but seems to be making good productions. Hate the interface myself though
Hmm....

Image

User avatar
theverdict
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:30 am
Location: Dirty South

Post by theverdict » Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:36 pm

I use fruit loops 6 and Ableton 5
Fruit loops is really easy once you get the hang of it.

gauche
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:42 pm
Location: scotland

Post by gauche » Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:40 pm

theVerdict wrote:I use fruit loops 6 and Ableton 5
Fruit loops is really easy once you get the hang of it.
hmm i keep hearing lots of things about fruit loops, i have it already, i wonder was it through experimenting with it or tutorials that got you started on the path of production? i'm going to look for some tutorials now- any suggested sites/tutorials would be welcome!
peace

sinewave
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:27 am
Location: London (moving to Toronto soon)
Contact:

Post by sinewave » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:02 pm

i'm using cubase SE, logice express 7 (learning), bias peak, battery 2, trilogy, fm7 and a bunch of free plugins. i've got ableton live 4 as well - but having problems with making the transition from cubase argghh.

i used to use fruityloops when it was at version 2 or something, it was so crap back then that i gave up using it. a mate showed me what cubase and logic were capable of. i'm pretty sure fruityloops has come a long way since then. i'd buy it if i could use it on a mac !!

User avatar
composite_human
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Composite Sound HQ

Post by composite_human » Wed Jun 28, 2006 1:23 am

i've been using acid pro since version 3...now i use version 5 along with soundforge and i do my mixdowns in cubase sx...
Image

User avatar
rebelutionary
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:58 pm

Post by rebelutionary » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:37 am

95% of what I do is done in Reason. The other 5% is done in Ableton Live. Why? Because Reason does not record external audio, I sample my own vocals and do Avant Garde Jazz stuff so I need Live for this purpose. Not to mention how well both these software work together. I find Reason extremely easy and powerful just read the manual and think outside the box. I dont think I could use anything else, get a demo of Reason and try it for yourself.

User avatar
will
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:31 am
Location: London

Post by will » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:19 pm

im using FL Studio 6 at the moment, finding it pretty easy to use

User avatar
skrapes
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: W4 La La Land

Post by skrapes » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:27 pm

Using Cubase with Reason and Cooledit to chopping. I'm mostly using Reason to programme drums. I've just started on Cubase though, and things are going slow. Also learning to use x amounts of VSTs at the same time slows things down. Once things get a bit more familiar, I'm hoping it will get easier. I've written about 64 bars in 3 weeks :o
When The Drum Beats Go Like This.....
http://www.myspace.com/skrapes

data
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:36 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by data » Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:55 am

Reason & Cubase

User avatar
al_the_man1
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: LS6

Post by al_the_man1 » Thu Jun 29, 2006 5:44 pm

Reason 3.0 and Cakewalk Sonar 4 Producer Edition to apply some better effects and mastering plug-ins than Reason. Also, I use some software synths in Sonar.

User avatar
side
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by side » Thu Jun 29, 2006 5:45 pm

Acid 4, Sound Forge..Renoise,Fruity
simple but works....
I am used to it from my downtempo production
- OWNTEMPO RECORDINGS -
CZ/SK DUBSTEP/GRIME LABEL
http://www.myspace.com/side9000
http://www.digital-tunes.net/labels/owntempo

forensix (mcr)
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Post by forensix (mcr) » Fri Jun 30, 2006 8:45 am

Cubase, Sound Forge, Reason

narcossist
Posts: 720
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:21 pm

Post by narcossist » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:16 am

Cool edit, cubase, kontakt, FL, absynth, minimoog.

forensix (mcr)
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Post by forensix (mcr) » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:47 am

narcossist wrote:Cool edit, cubase, kontakt, FL, absynth, minimoog.
thought you were using logic??

narcossist
Posts: 720
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:21 pm

Post by narcossist » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:53 am

yeah that too, it really doesn't get along with my cpu tho so i've been back on cubase. I really like a lot of the native filters you get on logic [and the es1] but it crashes too fuckin often and i've lost a lot of stuff.

dunno about everyone else but i always want to add one more vst or effect than the pc can handle so its my own fault really. need to get into bouncing tracks down more but my hd is rammed so that fucks things up to. meh.

shonky
Posts: 9754
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:31 pm

Post by shonky » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:03 am

narcossist wrote:yeah that too, it really doesn't get along with my cpu tho so i've been back on cubase. I really like a lot of the native filters you get on logic [and the es1] but it crashes too fuckin often and i've lost a lot of stuff.

dunno about everyone else but i always want to add one more vst or effect than the pc can handle so its my own fault really. need to get into bouncing tracks down more but my hd is rammed so that fucks things up to. meh.
From that remix project you gave me, I think you could save a lot of cpu by loading up the hits into one instance of exs24 (say kicks on one, snares on another), and you'd probably only need a quarter of what you're using. Don't think I've ever gone over 10 channels for my own stuff (and god knows it shows) :lol:
Hmm....

Image

forensix (mcr)
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Post by forensix (mcr) » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:06 am

narcossist wrote:yeah that too, it really doesn't get along with my cpu tho so i've been back on cubase. I really like a lot of the native filters you get on logic [and the es1] but it crashes too fuckin often and i've lost a lot of stuff.

dunno about everyone else but i always want to add one more vst or effect than the pc can handle so its my own fault really. need to get into bouncing tracks down more but my hd is rammed so that fucks things up to. meh.
new hard drive me thinks, glad ive got nearly 200 Gb on two hard drives one of those is purely dedicated to samples

oh and the big freeze button is your friend (once you free up some hd space)

User avatar
subzer
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL
Contact:

Post by subzer » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:14 am

Orion Platinum, Sound Forge
and loads of VST and DX
Last edited by subzer on Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests