[Solved] Stretching samples

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
martello
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Estonia

[Solved] Stretching samples

Post by martello » Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:13 pm

I have a sample part (piano chord with lower bass notes) which is 150 bpm and I want to use it in 140 bpm project. Stretching this sample in Cubase to fit into my project adds an artifacts and some strange noise, which is specially noticeable on lower parts of this sample. Is there any methods or tips to avoid this?
Last edited by martello on Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
miscreant
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:08 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Post by miscreant » Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:47 pm

not really, timestretching any audio more than a second or two will pretty much always introduce artifacts.

What i usually do in these situations is to have a fuckabout with eq's and fx and stuff so as to mask the artifacts slightly, make them a part of the song!

rendr
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:53 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by rendr » Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:51 pm

add a reverb fx, and set dry to 0% and wet to 100%.

r
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:40 pm

Post by r » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:07 pm

Make the tune in 150... fuck off with the listener or dj. Theyll pitch it down if they like.

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:12 pm

Load up Reaper, insert sample, slowdown the playback with the playback speed slider, export at new tempo

Bomshaka! :)

Brisance
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Brisance » Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:34 pm

FL has this nice way of choosing a timestretch algorithm(take that steinberg!) and usually one of them sounds a lot clearer than others. Also cherish the artifacts and take them as effects rather than nuisances.

b-lam
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:23 am

Post by b-lam » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:39 pm

Brisance wrote:FL has this nice way of choosing a timestretch algorithm(take that steinberg!) and usually one of them sounds a lot clearer than others. Also cherish the artifacts and take them as effects rather than nuisances.
+1

piano usually sounds pretty fucked when timestretched, I'd try to make something of it rather than smooth it out.

if you did want to smooth it out tho, ableton is definitely one of the best ways.

User avatar
Genevieve
Posts: 8775
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: 6_6

Post by Genevieve » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:46 am

If it's from a well known piece you could always look up a MIDI file of it or try to find the sheet music of it, put that into the sequencer and use a piano VSTi.
Image

namsayin

:'0

Head of the DSF Hebrew Awareness Society

martello
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by martello » Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:23 am

OK thanks, I'll try what you suggested and let you know. I dont think I'll by ableton to do this :D

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:28 am

alvin18 wrote:OK thanks, I'll try what you suggested and let you know. I dont think I'll by ableton to do this :D
No, but you could download the demo and use a audio recording prog like audacity to record the output of Ableton if the demos save feature doesn't work... :)

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:29 am

Genevieve wrote:If it's from a well known piece you could always look up a MIDI file of it or try to find the sheet music of it, put that into the sequencer and use a piano VSTi.
Great idea! :)

Brisance
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Brisance » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:20 pm

Hurtdeer wrote:
really? Piano vsts sound awful and you'll lose a lot of the feel of the original player, which is part of what makes sampling. Part of what makes piano pieces interesting is how the player is interpreting that, and if you program that in from a score, that'd be lost

ok, so personally I hate emulation based synthesizers that do guitars/pianos/orchestra/whatever since- and i mean even with the top of the range eastwest stuff- it always sounds so dull and lifeless to me. I find time stretching out an original sample would sound much more interesting
Now that's just being too anal about a minor difference. You could always play it in by midi keyboard or carefully manipulate velocities and timing..

Brisance
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Brisance » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:28 pm

You could be right, boils down to personal taste.

paradigm_x
Posts: 2164
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:43 am

Post by paradigm_x » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:37 pm

cubase has various options - MPEX2 is the best quality. Even that has a slider for monophonic-polyphonic, try playing with that.

you could always pitch it down a couple of semitones first, and transpose your track. Use pitch shift and untick preserve time. I do this a lot, and it means you only have to timestretch a tiny amount, get it as close as you can using the semitones (so its still easy to play midi along with). Dont use the 3rd option on the select tool, that sounds shit.

if its single notes, you could also chop em up and move em manually, will have some gaps, so could either use the 'close gaps' function or cover in some reverb.

personally, the whoel point of samples is the feel, grit and beauty of that moment in time. Reproducing with midi is just not even close... IMO etc.

:4:

User avatar
Genevieve
Posts: 8775
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: 6_6

Post by Genevieve » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:39 pm

Hurtdeer wrote:
futures_untold wrote:
Genevieve wrote:If it's from a well known piece you could always look up a MIDI file of it or try to find the sheet music of it, put that into the sequencer and use a piano VSTi.
Great idea! :)
really? Piano vsts sound awful and you'll lose a lot of the feel of the original player, which is part of what makes sampling. Part of what makes piano pieces interesting is how the player is interpreting that, and if you program that in from a score, that'd be lost

ok, so personally I hate emulation based synthesizers that do guitars/pianos/orchestra/whatever since- and i mean even with the top of the range eastwest stuff- it always sounds so dull and lifeless to me. I find time stretching out an original sample would sound much more interesting
All depends on the producer's priorities. Let him decide if it sounds good to his ears or not and what the producer wants a sample for, I would say.

Benn Jordan aka the Flashbulb composed 'Passage D' on a piano, but entered all the information into his sequencer and the end result is good: link to Passage D fan video
Image

namsayin

:'0

Head of the DSF Hebrew Awareness Society

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests