Special Announcement: We have migrated to a new forum platform community.dsf.ninja. The old forum is locked, but it will remain open for reading. Read more.

The Ableton Q&A Thread

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum

Postby futures_untold » Sun May 31, 2009 6:10 pm

The Ableton Live Questions & Answers Thread

This thread has been created to discuss Ableton Live. Feel free to post any questions or tips you have regarding Ableton Live below. Links to useful Ableton resources and tutorials appreciated! :)

----------------------------------------------------------------

Ableton Forums

Official Forum - http://forum.ableton.com/

Ableton Live DJ - http://www.abletonlivedj.com/forum/

----------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
futures_untold
 
Posts:
4429
Joined:
Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:25 pm
Location:
London

Postby r » Sun May 31, 2009 6:34 pm

r
 
Posts:
783
Joined:
Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:40 pm

Postby notch » Sun May 31, 2009 7:48 pm

R wrote:http://books.google.com/books?id=3Sn4FaSVE-4C&pg=PP5&dq=Djing+and+Live+Performance+With+Ableton+Live-+Martin+Delaney&hl=nl#PPP1,M1

for the interested people


AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME read.. Highly recommended..


TIP: Get out of the session view(clip view)..
I work exclusively in the arrangement view now.. I often found myself just making clips but not producing music in the session view..
ABLETON LIVE...
YOU EITHER IS OR YOU AIN"T..
User avatar
notch
 
Posts:
482
Joined:
Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:16 pm
Location:
Ocean Beach(San Diego)

Postby hurlingdervish » Sun May 31, 2009 8:16 pm

i have a feeling this thread may get too convoluted but here is my question:

what is the easiest way of exporting one shots? i often just open up ableton to make percussion sounds for later use so i dont have to worry about 10 things sounding good at once. with the drag and drop feature, it saves as a ableton specific file that refers to a temporary file, am i right? or does it make a backup copy?
i wish it just saved the wav file into your browser when you drag it there because i hate having files that i cant use elsewhere, and if i did want to make a folder of all the custom samples from dragging and dropping id have to find all the files labeled audio_track_0001_111 or whatever.

just wondering if im missing something here, like being able to rename the actual sound file and not the ableton file refering to the wav
User avatar
hurlingdervish
 
Posts:
2971
Joined:
Wed May 20, 2009 8:37 pm

Postby r » Sun May 31, 2009 9:25 pm

hmm i'm not that experienced but i think you need to bounce it anyway. Tho ableton surprises me everyday.

Just try to organize your work.

like the track you're fixing folder it like : <artistname> '09-05-31 <projectname>

but another folder in there where you can keep the samples you made and wanna use for the track.
r
 
Posts:
783
Joined:
Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:40 pm

Postby r » Sun May 31, 2009 9:25 pm

double post
r
 
Posts:
783
Joined:
Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:40 pm

Postby whineo » Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:47 pm

hurlingdervish wrote:i have a feeling this thread may get too convoluted but here is my question:

what is the easiest way of exporting one shots? i often just open up ableton to make percussion sounds for later use so i dont have to worry about 10 things sounding good at once. with the drag and drop feature, it saves as a ableton specific file that refers to a temporary file, am i right? or does it make a backup copy?


every time you audition a file it creates and .asd file (although im not sure if this is the case if you have automatic warp turned off - you would need to test this)

If you have only modified such things as envelopes within the clip then you can just consolidate the clip
If you have used effects - then freeze and flatten i find is quicker than bounce - just make sure that you only have one clip in that track (rather than looped clips or copied clips or you will create a larger file rather than one hit)

problem is - unless you have a project folder created for your project - which im gussing no as you are just processing hits - Ableton with save these in the incredibly shit Ableton Library
If it has created a project folder then 'collect all and save' is your friend

hurlingdervish wrote:i wish it just saved the wav file into your browser when you drag it there because i hate having files that i cant use elsewhere, and if i did want to make a folder of all the custom samples from dragging and dropping id have to find all the files labeled audio_track_0001_111 or whatever.

just wondering if im missing something here, like being able to rename the actual sound file and not the ableton file refering to the wav


basically i find this the one part of Live that is not intuitive - there probably are ways to manage all these files but i have since given up on live.
whineo
 
Posts:
1736
Joined:
Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:32 pm
Location:
ox

Postby magma » Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:04 pm

Rule #1 about Ableton 8 is that Corpus fucking rules.
Meus equus tuo altior est

"Let me eat when I'm hungry, let me drink when I'm dry.
Give me dollars when I'm hard up, religion when I die."

nowaysj wrote:I wholeheartedly believe that Michael Brown's mother and father killed him.
User avatar
magma
 
Posts:
18810
Joined:
Thu May 17, 2007 10:27 am
Location:
Parts Unknown

Postby hurlingdervish » Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:35 pm

Whineo wrote:If you have used effects - then freeze and flatten i find is quicker than bounce -



yes i have been doing this with basslines, its a goddamn great feature. hopefully they fix the problem of exporting in the future though, it seems incredibly obvious. i might just open fl studio just for edison and its ease of use for saving sounds then just throw it all in ableton

thanks for the response
User avatar
hurlingdervish
 
Posts:
2971
Joined:
Wed May 20, 2009 8:37 pm

Postby notch » Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:25 pm

ableton tip#68449
Delete fruity loops...
Ableton can do everything better and faster...
Its like owning a sports cars but you keep driving the pinto:)
ABLETON LIVE...
YOU EITHER IS OR YOU AIN"T..
User avatar
notch
 
Posts:
482
Joined:
Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:16 pm
Location:
Ocean Beach(San Diego)

Postby r » Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:38 pm

notch wrote:ableton tip#68449
Delete fruity loops...
Ableton can do everything better and faster...
Its like owning a sports cars but you keep driving the pinto:)


tip#68450
don't forget to post the previous reply in the fruityloops topic. In a Ableton Live topic its not relevant.
r
 
Posts:
783
Joined:
Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:40 pm

Postby notch » Mon Jun 01, 2009 5:04 pm

yes sir!!! <rolls>
fucking edit not working right..
rolls eyez......
ABLETON LIVE...
YOU EITHER IS OR YOU AIN"T..
User avatar
notch
 
Posts:
482
Joined:
Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:16 pm
Location:
Ocean Beach(San Diego)

Postby lewisr » Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:05 am

is there a way of making templates in ableton.. i.e. when i open up my Djing template it has audio tracks, crossfader assigned to 1 and 2, each channel with a 3 channel E.q. etc.. all ready to go?

My old sonar did this and i cant find a way to make ableton do it.

thanks
User avatar
lewisr
 
Posts:
314
Joined:
Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:17 pm
Location:
Glasgow

Postby lewisr » Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:57 am

Eops wrote:
LewisR wrote:is there a way of making templates in ableton.. i.e. when i open up my Djing template it has audio tracks, crossfader assigned to 1 and 2, each channel with a 3 channel E.q. etc.. all ready to go?

My old sonar did this and i cant find a way to make ableton do it.

thanks


Sure - start a new set and set everything up how you want it then open the preferences and go to the file folder tab - up at the top you will see a button with 'Save current set as template' - hit that mother and you got yourself a template.

For those that have not done this I cant recommend it enough - spend some time setting up your low pass filter drum groups ect and you save hours of faffing around and most importantly you can get that idea down super quick!


haha, thanks a lot mna, been trying to do that for so long.

Can you set up different templates for different things?
User avatar
lewisr
 
Posts:
314
Joined:
Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:17 pm
Location:
Glasgow

Postby myst » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:32 pm

Top tip: If your using live 7, and thinking about upgrading to 8...Dont!

For the amount of money there's really not that much extra.

Sure the groove engine is cool, but are you really gunna use it that much? I know i havent.

PLUS ive had about 3 sets that are unable to open in 8 but still open fine in 7 which has pissed me off into continuing on with 7
myst
 
Posts:
88
Joined:
Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:18 pm
Location:
Leicester

Postby dubsaw » Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:09 pm

The saturator is your friend!!!

:D
User avatar
dubsaw
 
Posts:
327
Joined:
Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:15 pm
Location:
UK

This forum is locked. Continue the discussion by creating a new topic on The New Dubstep Forum.
Next

Return to Production, Hardware & Technical

cron