The Renoise Q&A thread

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
User avatar
daft cunt
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

The Renoise Q&A thread

Post by daft cunt » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:40 am

The Renoise Questions & Answers Thread

This thread has been created to discuss Renoise. Feel free to post any questions or tips you have regarding Renoise below. Links to useful Renoise resources and tutorials appreciated! :)

----------------------------------------------------------------

Renoise Links

Official Forum - http://www.renoise.com/board/

Online Help - http://www.renoise.com/help/

----------------------------------------------------------------

reveal
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:37 pm

Post by reveal » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:46 pm

Does anyone know how to numerically view the master db level? You can't tell by using the mixer. I'm tired of just estimating where it is hitting while sorting out my gain structure.

Cheers

User avatar
daft cunt
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

Post by daft cunt » Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:19 pm

Well there's the mastering device on the master channel. I never used it before, just compared it now with Inspector using a couple of samples and Renoise's MD shows -3 dB when Inspector is at -6 dB.
Not sure which one is more reliable but I prefer to use Inspector, have it open all the time and make things 3 dB quieter rather than having to reach the master track every time I need a value.

deadly_habit
Posts: 22980
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 am
Location: MURRICA

Post by deadly_habit » Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:36 pm

http://tutorials.renoise.com/Renoise/Mixer

there is no specific in the box solution to show exact values, but it's pretty easy to read as is

vadarfone
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post by vadarfone » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:00 pm

Daft tnuc wrote:Well there's the mastering device on the master channel.
? What do you mean?

User avatar
daft cunt
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

Post by daft cunt » Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:44 am

Sorry, master track
And mastering device may not be the actual name but that's the box where you can on/off DC filter, soft clipping & auto-gain.
What A Daft tnuc wrote:I never used it before, just compared it now with Inspector using a couple of samples and Renoise's MD shows -3 dB when Inspector is at -6 dB.
Not sure which one is more reliable but I prefer to use Inspector, have it open all the time and make things 3 dB quieter rather than having to reach the master track every time I need a value.
Actually the only reason why Renoise peak value was 3 dB louder than Inspector's was because the master gain was at + 3 dB... :|

vadarfone
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post by vadarfone » Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:22 pm

Yeah, I knew what you meant by 'Master Channel'. It was the Mastering Device bit I was confused about!

Got it now though.

This is not really a device, but more of a set of rendering options, I think.

User avatar
daft cunt
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: Toulouse, France

Post by daft cunt » Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:51 pm

Indeed. Need to extend my vocabulary :D

User avatar
crytek
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:48 pm
Location: H-Town
Contact:

Post by crytek » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:11 pm

Here is a tip.

When programming hats, instead of using multiple hi hat samples of different velocities, and timbres, why not use just one good hi hat sample along with the 09XX command. This saves a lot of time instead of trying to hunt down for similar samples to go with each other. Just use one good one, and offset it. It will sound a lot more natural. Also, regarding programming, throw in some delays. The delay column is your best friend. Get to know it, and it will prove it's value to you.



I'll get cracking and post more tips later.
Azair wrote:...equipment doesn't determine the quality of the tunes, because the creativity of mind can never be programmed by a computer.

Time is running...
|

vivace
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 1:54 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Contact:

Post by vivace » Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:34 pm

A quick and cheesy way to set up a howling, LFO'ed bassline in Renoise:
- Squarewave/sawtooth/sinewave, 2nd octave
- Distortion, Sharp, 100% filter, not too wet
- Filter 3, Lowshelf
- LFO-device, synced to Filter 3, cutoff
- Set LFO somewhere between 40Hz and 1200Hz (taste)
- Automate LFO-device's frequency for your wobble, use X6YY in effect column to reset
- EQ according to taste

For more control, split the sound in low-end and high-end:
- Duplicate track, patterns included
- Change LFO to somewhere between 300Hz and 3000Hz (taste)
- Might be wise to remove distortion from low-end track
- EQ according to taste
Vivace

“Play the music, not the instrument.”

feral witchchild
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:49 am

Post by feral witchchild » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:55 pm

crytek wrote:
When programming hats, instead of using multiple hi hat samples of different velocities, and timbres, why not use just one good hi hat sample along with the 09XX command. This saves a lot of time instead of trying to hunt down for similar samples to go with each other. Just use one good one, and offset it. It will sound a lot more natural. Also, regarding programming, throw in some delays. The delay column is your best friend. Get to know it, and it will prove it's value to you.
Hmm...interesting.
collige wrote:some stay dry and others feel the pain.

vertex
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:29 am
Location: South West UK

Post by vertex » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:13 pm

Can you rewire Reason 4.0 into Renoise?

deadly_habit
Posts: 22980
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 am
Location: MURRICA

Post by deadly_habit » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:13 pm

Vertex wrote:Can you rewire Reason 4.0 into Renoise?
the latest version has rewire so yes

misk
Posts: 5525
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:40 am
Location: East Coast Soon!
Contact:

Post by misk » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:33 pm

heres a tip: buy it. it's cheap and sounds amazing, AND when you pay money for something, you tend to take the use of it more seriously, and you'll go farther.

Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.

resampling... good shit.

deadly_habit
Posts: 22980
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 am
Location: MURRICA

Post by deadly_habit » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:34 pm

Misk wrote:heres a tip: buy it. it's cheap and sounds amazing, AND when you pay money for something, you tend to take the use of it more seriously, and you'll go farther.

Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.Render selection to sample.

resampling... good shit.
yea resampling is a piece of piss in renoise
plus it's cheap as fuck to begin with

User avatar
crytek
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:48 pm
Location: H-Town
Contact:

Slicing samples manually.

Post by crytek » Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:47 pm

Work flow to faster chopped samples:

When I started out using Renoise, I would load up a break, highlight all the samples minus the hit (i.e. kick) I want, cut that, add a new sample slot and paste it in the new slot. Then repeat the process until the break was chopped. I got quite fast at that, but I stumbled upon an even a faster way to do it.

Basically, Load up a sample, highlight the hit you want and select "Copy into new sample" or the shortcut CTL(CMD)+Shift+ C. It basically does what I just described but automatically. Do that to all your hits, and delete the original sample.

To speed this process up even more, after you chop your first hit, go over to the "Instrument Editor" and hit "Generate Drum Kit". You just have to hit it once. Then just go back to the Sample editor and continue to chop your break. Not only will your break be chopped, but the rest of your hits will automatically map across the keyboard. So all you really have to do delete the original sample and play the break!!!

You may have guessed it, but I'll say it anyway. Although I'm just talking about breaks, this will work with any sample.

8)
Azair wrote:...equipment doesn't determine the quality of the tunes, because the creativity of mind can never be programmed by a computer.

Time is running...
|

User avatar
collige
Posts: 6316
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:50 am
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Post by collige » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:11 am

Sidechaining: How do you do it?

Also, does anyone know of any good timestreching vsts/AUs? I hate that 09xx crap.
Statement of Intent VIP / Sahaquiel v4 single out now on UK Trends.
Soundcloud
Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Mixcloud | Twitter

vertex
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:29 am
Location: South West UK

Post by vertex » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:23 am

^ I love the 09xx crap! :P
Deadly Habit wrote:
Vertex wrote:Can you rewire Reason 4.0 into Renoise?
the latest version has rewire so yes
Awesome, I'm downloading the demo version now...

Another quick question, how do you like the bundled DSP effects (Reverb, delay, compressor, distortion, flanger, phaser, EQ)?

Do you like the sond of them or to you tend to go for a more fancy VST plug?

deadly_habit
Posts: 22980
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 am
Location: MURRICA

Post by deadly_habit » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:32 am

Vertex wrote:^ I love the 09xx crap! :P
Deadly Habit wrote:
Vertex wrote:Can you rewire Reason 4.0 into Renoise?
the latest version has rewire so yes
Awesome, I'm downloading the demo version now...

Another quick question, how do you like the bundled DSP effects (Reverb, delay, compressor, distortion, flanger, phaser, EQ)?

Do you like the sond of them or to you tend to go for a more fancy VST plug?
besides distrotion i use external but depends on taste
control via hex of automation and fx makes renoise top don for drums alone

User avatar
crytek
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:48 pm
Location: H-Town
Contact:

Post by crytek » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:41 am

Vertex wrote: Another quick question, how do you like the bundled DSP effects (Reverb, delay, compressor, distortion, flanger, phaser, EQ)?

Do you like the sond of them or to you tend to go for a more fancy VST plug?
The on board plug-ins are good. At first I thought they were crap until the fellow Renoiser (cats like Keith303, D-Blue, IT-Alien, etc..) proved me wrong. Since then, I've been getting into them more and more,and although they may require a bit more tweaking, they are ace. I hear ASC only uses the on board plug-ins. I will say that the reverbs really depends on how you use them. If you want short reverbs, I feel that they sound way too metallic. But for longer reverbs, they are nice.
Azair wrote:...equipment doesn't determine the quality of the tunes, because the creativity of mind can never be programmed by a computer.

Time is running...
|

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests