Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:15 pm

futures_untold wrote:
AcidRat wrote:Well I've been producing for roughly two years now, not saying I'm good or anything, still fairly noob, but I have no doubt in my mind that this is something I'm not going to give up.
Cool man. Go for it if that's what your desire. :)

So you're set up with keyboards, monitors and all that malarkey?

Personally I'd still be reluctant to drop a grand on music software. That said, I'd pay a grand for a good mountain bike. :6:
Keyboards yes but monitors no and I cannot make use of monitors at this current point in time as I am doing a live in accomodation job and im surrounded by other staff :P

When I return to Ireland in September though I'll be purchasing some monitors :)

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by futures_untold » Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:27 pm

AcidRat wrote:Keyboards yes but monitors no and I cannot make use of monitors at this current point in time as I am doing a live in accomodation job and im surrounded by other staff :P

When I return to Ireland in September though I'll be purchasing some monitors :)
Seen. It sounds like you're in a professional and well paying job, so a grand comes easy. If you're not investing it in other things like Funding Circle, go for it.

If you find you don't need the software later, you may be able to resell it?

If not, enjoy! :)

AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:50 pm

futures_untold wrote:
AcidRat wrote:Keyboards yes but monitors no and I cannot make use of monitors at this current point in time as I am doing a live in accomodation job and im surrounded by other staff :P

When I return to Ireland in September though I'll be purchasing some monitors :)
Seen. It sounds like you're in a professional and well paying job, so a grand comes easy. If you're not investing it in other things like Funding Circle, go for it.

If you find you don't need the software later, you may be able to resell it?

If not, enjoy! :)
Well I wash pots and pans haha sometimes I make burgers :corndance: I'm making about 5 grand this summer and I don't pay rent so I have lots of monies :h:

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by futures_untold » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:20 pm

Professional scrubbing, I've been there and done it too. (too often to care to admit lol)

Back to the crux of the issue here, which exact benefits will you receive by spending £1000 on Komplete?

How will your workflow improve?

What will be made easier?

What particular aspects of the Komplete package are attractive considering the two previous questions?

Personally I would be looking at a way to make more money from that 1k. You've got enough to start a business right there, so why wouldn't you?

Patrick :)

AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:39 am

futures_untold wrote:Professional scrubbing, I've been there and done it too. (too often to care to admit lol)

Back to the crux of the issue here, which exact benefits will you receive by spending £1000 on Komplete?

How will your workflow improve?

What will be made easier?

What particular aspects of the Komplete package are attractive considering the two previous questions?

Personally I would be looking at a way to make more money from that 1k. You've got enough to start a business right there, so why wouldn't you?

Patrick :)
Well to be honest I'm quite interested in the strings and pianos they have there as welll as all the other vst's. As well I will be getting maschine in a bundle. I just imagine I will be better able to creatively express myself with all this stuff. I've been broke for a long time, never had money to buy stuff, gonna admit, had to crack programs a few times to produce until i could save up the money.

Now I have a decent paying job, I figure while I have it, I might as well invest in music, rather than stupid stuff that I don't really care for.

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by futures_untold » Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:18 am

I feel you on the 'long time skint, now got $$$' vibe. Sadly most of us do I guess! :(

Re: spending money, here's my take:

If music is a meaningful occupation which is so relaxing and engaging for you that you simply must do it, spend the money because it is what could be called an 'energiser'. doing the activity gives back more than it costs.

If it's a part time thing though, I'd seriously be inclined to use the money to make more money. In the end, you'll not worry about spending 1k on production stuff if you're earning good money permanently in multiple ways. How many of us have been flush for a few months then hit rock bottom after? :)

Patrick

AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:34 pm

futures_untold wrote:I feel you on the 'long time skint, now got $$$' vibe. Sadly most of us do I guess! :(

Re: spending money, here's my take:

If music is a meaningful occupation which is so relaxing and engaging for you that you simply must do it, spend the money because it is what could be called an 'energiser'. doing the activity gives back more than it costs.

If it's a part time thing though, I'd seriously be inclined to use the money to make more money. In the end, you'll not worry about spending 1k on production stuff if you're earning good money permanently in multiple ways. How many of us have been flush for a few months then hit rock bottom after? :)

Patrick
How would you recommend to use my money to make more money?

AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:37 pm

the only idea I have for when I return to Ireland is I want to start holding my own club nights kinda thing, even just get gigs for bands going, help bands make a bitta $, help myself make a bitta $ while organising a great night out.

Also want to do that so when I learn to DJ eventually I can do gigs :P

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by fragments » Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:33 pm

AcidRat wrote:the only idea I have for when I return to Ireland is I want to start holding my own club nights kinda thing, even just get gigs for bands going, help bands make a bitta $, help myself make a bitta $ while organising a great night out.

Also want to do that so when I learn to DJ eventually I can do gigs :P
:h:


Not trying to sink your battleship, but I've known lots of guys who've been organizing nights for years and they do a great job of it. You aren't going make any money at first and then not very much (more than likely).

If you want to be the one making money hand over fist at something like a local DJ night, be the one selling booze.

But I agree, if you love making music and you get a lot out of it, spending some money on it would be great. And Komplete would certainly keep you learning...forever...LOL.

Maschine is a beast and NI synths, Kontakt and Reaktor all integrate into it flawlessly. I'm pretty much only producing on Maschine and an external mixer at the moment. Love it.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

AcidRat
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by AcidRat » Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:00 pm

Yeah I've never had the chance to play around with hardware before besides my midi keyboard so I'm real interested to see how I can improve with it.

Yeah I probably wouldn't make much, but I wouldn't really be expecting to, most of it would just be a chance to create a really good night and get some local DJ's up. Any money after costs would be an added bonus

User avatar
Genevieve
Posts: 8775
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: 6_6

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by Genevieve » Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:22 pm

Uhhhhh sorry for the mini hijack, but can someone tell me why Guitar Rig outputs everything in mono even if I select it to output in stereo?
Image

namsayin

:'0

Head of the DSF Hebrew Awareness Society

p12
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by p12 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:48 pm

Genevieve wrote:Uhhhhh sorry for the mini hijack, but can someone tell me why Guitar Rig outputs everything in mono even if I select it to output in stereo?
At the top of the guitar rig window u have a R and a L wich represent left and right. Make sure both are pressed (white) and that all the guitar rig plugs have stereo mode on (ussualy they have mono mode available when you look at the ''extra settings'', wich you dont want).
...NO!

User avatar
Genevieve
Posts: 8775
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: 6_6

Re: Is Komplete 9 a wise investment?

Post by Genevieve » Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:05 pm

p12 wrote:
Genevieve wrote:Uhhhhh sorry for the mini hijack, but can someone tell me why Guitar Rig outputs everything in mono even if I select it to output in stereo?
At the top of the guitar rig window u have a R and a L wich represent left and right. Make sure both are pressed (white) and that all the guitar rig plugs have stereo mode on (ussualy they have mono mode available when you look at the ''extra settings'', wich you dont want).
Yeah already figured that but thanks anyway. It's one of my favorite multi-fx already
Image

namsayin

:'0

Head of the DSF Hebrew Awareness Society

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests