Special Announcement: We have migrated to a new forum platform community.dsf.ninja. The old forum is locked, but it will remain open for reading. Read more.

Legend4ry's news, offers & freebies thread.[VST2 dev ended]

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum

Postby legend4ry » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:39 pm

Due to my boring nightshifts I tend to just sit there and read about the DAW world finding out deals, news and interesting articles. Think of this as a mega thread for that.

Feel free to post your own..

:W:





----------------------------------

Image

MELLO : Free for a limited time. (PLUS FREE iLOK which is needed for software)

http://www.uvi.net/en/vintage-corner/mello.html

Hark back to the heyday of classic rock and one instrument stands above the rest, a 350lb behemoth that would forever change the way we think about making music. At the heart of this monster was an array of tape machines, one per note on the attached keyboard, each playing a uniquely recorded sound. With only 8 seconds of tape per key and a cumbersome frame this machine had its limitations but was nonetheless impressive for its time, boasting a multitimbral and truly polyphonic 'engine'. Instantly made famous by the Beatles hit 'Strawberry Fields Forever' and used by countless others including The Moody Blues, Rolling Stones, and prog rock legends Yes, this was the 'must-have' sound of the 60's. While its use fell out of fashion the implications it made have become fundamental to modern music production.


Features

◆ Pristine and comprehensive sample library from 3 original machines
◆ Mixable key and mechanical noise for authentic experience
◆ Switchable keyboard range (original or extended)
◆ Stereo modes including custom unison
◆ Switchable multimode filter with cutoff and resonance
◆ ADSR envelopes for amplitude and filter with velocity sensitivity
◆ 3-band EQ with sweepable mid frequency
◆ Built-in SparkVerb
◆ Analog-modeled tape delay


Image


FREE iLOK

http://www.uvi.net/en/store/ilok-smart-key.html

How to Get Your FREE iLok Key?

1. Purchase your iLok on http://www.uvi.net

2. You will receive a $78 voucher code that comes in your iLok package (we refund the iLok and shipping fees) good towards any purchase at http://www.uvi.net
Last edited by legend4ry on Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby SunkLo » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:31 pm

Nice looking GUI. The mellotron is quite the oddity of an instrument.

Although it's not a free iLok when they pay you back with a voucher for their own products. :?
Not to mention the recent iLok shenanigans with people losing all their licenses.

Looks like a cool bit of kit though.
Blaze it -4.20dB

nowaysj wrote:Raising a girl in this jizz filled world is not the easiest thing.

Phigure wrote:I haven't heard such a beautiful thing since that time Jesus sang Untrue

If I ever get banned I'll come back as SpunkLo, just you mark my words.
User avatar
SunkLo
 
Posts:
3428
Joined:
Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:54 am
Location:
Canadaland
Has Bigged up!:
85 times
Been Bigged up!:
175 times

Postby legend4ry » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:33 pm

Well it is essentially free as you're getting the money back you paid for it (though in store credit).

Still a pretty good deal if you're looking to get into more HQ plugins!
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby SunkLo » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm

Yeah if you're already going to be buying their stuff, it's nice to not have to pay for the iLok. Although it seems like a lot of companies are moving away from it recently. Don't wanna derail by getting deep into a DRM debate. I haven't heard of this company before, checking out their stuff now.
Blaze it -4.20dB

nowaysj wrote:Raising a girl in this jizz filled world is not the easiest thing.

Phigure wrote:I haven't heard such a beautiful thing since that time Jesus sang Untrue

If I ever get banned I'll come back as SpunkLo, just you mark my words.
User avatar
SunkLo
 
Posts:
3428
Joined:
Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:54 am
Location:
Canadaland
Has Bigged up!:
85 times
Been Bigged up!:
175 times

Postby AxeD » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:31 am

The only industry standard recording and post-pro software only runs with iLok though.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.
User avatar
AxeD
 
Posts:
9361
Joined:
Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:10 pm
Location:
Damstarem
Has Bigged up!:
1 time
Been Bigged up!:
334 times

Postby SunkLo » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:52 am

Yeah there's still a lot of important software that runs on it but it's rare to see new plugins coming out that use it for their licensing. Waves moved away from it, as did Brainworx. Seems like the general trend is moving away to a more practical licensing scheme. It's nice that in the meantime people who are just making their first foray into ilok can get deals like this and at least not have to pay for the dongle.
Blaze it -4.20dB

nowaysj wrote:Raising a girl in this jizz filled world is not the easiest thing.

Phigure wrote:I haven't heard such a beautiful thing since that time Jesus sang Untrue

If I ever get banned I'll come back as SpunkLo, just you mark my words.
User avatar
SunkLo
 
Posts:
3428
Joined:
Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:54 am
Location:
Canadaland
Has Bigged up!:
85 times
Been Bigged up!:
175 times

Postby legend4ry » Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:32 am

Chord space : No theory needed! (free / Windows VST only)

Image

ChordSpace is a plug-in that generates MIDI chords. No knowledge of theory is needed to use it; you simply click around until you find a progression that works for you. ChordSpace has a palette of over 200 chords per key, all logically laid out so that great progressions are easy.


http://www.chordspace.com/ChordSpaceindex.htm
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby Electric_Head » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:46 am

Don't forget Nova3 if you're using Chord Space.

Nova 3 is a generative sequencer. It is inspired by Otomata by Batuhan Bozkurt, that uses cellular automata to generate emergent sequences of MIDI notes.

Rovers move around a matrix, emitting MIDI notes when the encounter a wall and changing direction when they encounter a wall, obstacles, or other rovers. Patterns may be static, varying or wildly chaotic. Lots of knobs and such for tweaking.

This plug-in does not generate any audio output. It emits MIDI notes which should be routed to a synth / sampler / instrument to produce audio.

Image

Sorry if I'm derailing Legend4ry.
Image ImageImage Image
Image
User avatar
Electric_Head
 
Posts:
16958
Joined:
Tue May 11, 2010 10:59 am
Location:
South of Africa
Has Bigged up!:
292 times
Been Bigged up!:
464 times

Postby outbound » Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:28 pm

That chord space looks great :)
User avatar
outbound
 
Posts:
1565
Joined:
Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:32 pm
Location:
Nottingham
Has Bigged up!:
1 time
Been Bigged up!:
46 times

Postby Electric_Head » Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:40 pm

outbound wrote:That chord space looks great :)


It is really good.
You can setup arps as well with specific feel to the chord progression.

I set it up with Nova 3 and let it make beautiful music
Image ImageImage Image
Image
User avatar
Electric_Head
 
Posts:
16958
Joined:
Tue May 11, 2010 10:59 am
Location:
South of Africa
Has Bigged up!:
292 times
Been Bigged up!:
464 times

Postby ThisIsSovereign » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:07 pm

Both of these look great, grabbed both of them gonna play around! :W:
User avatar
ThisIsSovereign
 
Posts:
345
Joined:
Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:59 pm
Location:
United States
Has Bigged up!:
291 times
Been Bigged up!:
21 times

Postby legend4ry » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:29 pm

I could never get Nova3 working on Fruity (same with Nebula3 Free Bundle) but it worked flawlessly in StudioOne.
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby legend4ry » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:52 pm

Steinberg ends dev of VST2

Steinberg Media Technologies has announced that they will no longer continue to develop and maintain the VST 2 software interface but focus efforts entirely on the Software Development Kit (SDK) development of VST 3. All Steinberg host applications will remain VST 2 compatible.

"After introducing the SDK of version 3 to the VST community five years ago, we believe it's time that VST 2 slowly comes to an end," remarks Timo Wildenhain, product marketing manager at Steinberg. "VST 3 reflects today's technological advancements and meanwhile a considerable number of VST hosts and plug-ins support VST 3."


http://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeven ... -2504.html
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby NinjaEdit » Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:50 am

VST3 has been around for five years. Developers seemed to prefer VST2.4 because it has wider support from hosts, and because there is more information available.

But actually, VST3 can render to VST2 (and AU!), and the documentation is actually useful, unlike VST2.4. Most hosts do seem to support VST3 now anyway.

KVR has a thread on it.
User avatar
NinjaEdit
 
Posts:
1603
Joined:
Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:16 pm
Location:
Western Australia
Has Bigged up!:
10 times
Been Bigged up!:
43 times

Postby legend4ry » Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:22 am

Really, its just the SDK so it won't rule out the push for VST3 to become the norm but its still interesting that steinberg decided to leave the SDK in the state that its in. Not to say its a bad state but really - VST3 SDK brings on whole new shit piles to deal with.
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes


https://soundcloud.com/legend4ry/untitled
User avatar
legend4ry
 
Posts:
10589
Joined:
Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:56 am
Location:
Woolwich
Has Bigged up!:
124 times
Been Bigged up!:
113 times

Postby Milkybstrd » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:21 am

Nice thread.

Chordspace and Nova 3 look wicked, cheers!
User avatar
Milkybstrd
 
Posts:
7
Joined:
Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:43 pm
Has Bigged up!:
1 time
Been Bigged up!:
0 time

Postby syrup » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:54 am

Electric_Head wrote:Don't forget Nova3 if you're using Chord Space.

Nova 3 is a generative sequencer. It is inspired by Otomata by Batuhan Bozkurt, that uses cellular automata to generate emergent sequences of MIDI notes.

Rovers move around a matrix, emitting MIDI notes when the encounter a wall and changing direction when they encounter a wall, obstacles, or other rovers. Patterns may be static, varying or wildly chaotic. Lots of knobs and such for tweaking.

This plug-in does not generate any audio output. It emits MIDI notes which should be routed to a synth / sampler / instrument to produce audio.

Image

Sorry if I'm derailing Legend4ry.



Hey E_H, could you help me? i know you use reaper. I got the nova plugin up and running, but i can't record the midi notes, i tried it on the track with Nova3 but it doesn't record anything i just get an empty MIDI clip, same when i sent the MIDI to another track... what am i doing wrong here? i checked the input and record settings and everything should be set up correctly :?:
https://soundcloud.com/johney/tapeworm-dub

dubfordessert wrote:you can jizz on me if you want
User avatar
syrup
Reigning Mini-Mix King
 
Posts:
8334
Joined:
Mon May 25, 2009 3:18 pm
Location:
down in my heart
Has Bigged up!:
392 times
Been Bigged up!:
507 times

Postby syrup » Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:04 am

johney wrote:
Electric_Head wrote:Don't forget Nova3 if you're using Chord Space.

Nova 3 is a generative sequencer. It is inspired by Otomata by Batuhan Bozkurt, that uses cellular automata to generate emergent sequences of MIDI notes.

Rovers move around a matrix, emitting MIDI notes when the encounter a wall and changing direction when they encounter a wall, obstacles, or other rovers. Patterns may be static, varying or wildly chaotic. Lots of knobs and such for tweaking.

This plug-in does not generate any audio output. It emits MIDI notes which should be routed to a synth / sampler / instrument to produce audio.

Image

Sorry if I'm derailing Legend4ry.



Hey E_H, could you help me? i know you use reaper. I got the nova plugin up and running, but i can't record the midi notes, i tried it on the track with Nova3 but it doesn't record anything i just get an empty MIDI clip, same when i sent the MIDI to another track... what am i doing wrong here? i checked the input and record settings and everything should be set up correctly :?:


edit: i figured it out :corndance:
https://soundcloud.com/johney/tapeworm-dub

dubfordessert wrote:you can jizz on me if you want
User avatar
syrup
Reigning Mini-Mix King
 
Posts:
8334
Joined:
Mon May 25, 2009 3:18 pm
Location:
down in my heart
Has Bigged up!:
392 times
Been Bigged up!:
507 times

Postby Electric_Head » Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:30 am

You need to run the Nova as a midi device without actually entering any midi notes.
The rovers take care of the midi input.
You then route that device to a synth.

But you seem to know this now :D
Image ImageImage Image
Image
User avatar
Electric_Head
 
Posts:
16958
Joined:
Tue May 11, 2010 10:59 am
Location:
South of Africa
Has Bigged up!:
292 times
Been Bigged up!:
464 times

Postby syrup » Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:43 pm

i put it on as an input FX
https://soundcloud.com/johney/tapeworm-dub

dubfordessert wrote:you can jizz on me if you want
User avatar
syrup
Reigning Mini-Mix King
 
Posts:
8334
Joined:
Mon May 25, 2009 3:18 pm
Location:
down in my heart
Has Bigged up!:
392 times
Been Bigged up!:
507 times

This forum is locked. Continue the discussion by creating a new topic on The New Dubstep Forum.
Next

Return to Production, Hardware & Technical

cron