Special Announcement: We have migrated to a new forum platform community.dsf.ninja. The old forum is locked, but it will remain open for reading. Read more.

Mixer Signal Flow

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum

Postby magnetron_sputtering » Fri May 30, 2014 2:24 pm

I recently got a mixer, an Alesis MultiMix 8 USB FX, and I'm a little confused as to how the signal is routed. I've been using Ableton for years so I'm used to just hitting a drop-down and selecting where I want the signal to go.

I'm using a Kaoss Pad as a send effect, but when I record a track into it, I lose the built-in mixer effects. It's as if the mixer is sending the signal to the 'AUX SEND' output before passing through the built-in effects and bringing it back in after them. So when I cut the original audio and let the recording play on the KP3, I all of a sudden lose the bit of reverb or whatever that the mixer supplies. I figure either I have it connected wrong or the internal routing in the mixer just won't allow me to do this. Either way I should probably just use the effects on the KP3 but I'd like to understand what's going on first.

Anyone?

Image
User avatar
magnetron_sputtering
 
Posts:
184
Joined:
Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:38 pm

Postby fragments » Fri May 30, 2014 2:39 pm

So when you say "cut the original audio and let the recording play on the KP3" you mean you have sampled something onto the KP3 correct?

In that case my guess would (and I think this would be typical on any analog mixer, not sure) is that the Aux send/return path doesnt pass through the internal mixer FX.

My recommendation would be not to use the dedicated return channel to pass the audio out of the KP3 and into the mixer, use one of the stereo channels for a "return" instead, as they are run through the internal mixer FX.

I read the documentation, in less than 10 minutes, that Alesis provides. Pretty weak IMO. It didnt note anything about whether the aux send/return path going through the internal FX or not. And I havent worked with many mixers with internal FX...but my guess is that it is typical for the aux send/return paths NOT to go through the internal FX.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.
User avatar
fragments
 
Posts:
3552
Joined:
Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:24 pm
Location:
NEOhio

Postby magnetron_sputtering » Fri May 30, 2014 2:59 pm

fragments wrote:So when you say "cut the original audio and let the recording play on the KP3" you mean you have sampled something onto the KP3 correct?

Correct.

fragments wrote:My recommendation would be not to use the dedicated return channel to pass the audio out of the KP3 and into the mixer, use one of the stereo channels for a "return" instead, as they are run through the internal mixer FX.

Ah that sounds like it could work. I'll give it a shot when I'm home from work!

fragments wrote:my guess is that it is typical for the aux send/return paths NOT to go through the internal FX.

Seems like a strange design choice.
User avatar
magnetron_sputtering
 
Posts:
184
Joined:
Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:38 pm

Postby fragments » Fri May 30, 2014 3:08 pm

To me it doesnt seem that strange, unless the aux return channel had an internal FX amount knob. Or there were multiple aux/return channels and you got some dry, some wet. I would rather work with the limitation of my return channels not passing through the internal FX.

Anyway, not trying to be argumentative.

The transition from the route anything to anything enviroment of a DAW to hardware can be...interesting?
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.
User avatar
fragments
 
Posts:
3552
Joined:
Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:24 pm
Location:
NEOhio

Postby nowaysj » Sat May 31, 2014 7:29 pm

Dude, your manual is probably the best guide, or some alesis forum, if there is one. Each piece of kit does its thing in its own way, and I don't think anyone without specific knowledge of that mixer could probably answer this.

I will say though, after having owned a few bits of Alesis gear - every piece has had a gotcha or two. They spec out well, but there is something in their design, some cost cutting measure that you can't really find out about until you buy them. Then in use, there is some half crippling thing and you're like, you mother fuckers. Anyway, where there is a will there is a way. Best of luck.
Join Me
DiegoSapiens wrote:oh fucking hell now i see how on point was nowaysj
https://soundcloud.com/cc74/mks-keytar-porno-fantasy
User avatar
nowaysj
 
Posts:
23281
Joined:
Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:11 am
Location:
Mountain Fortress

Postby fragments » Sat May 31, 2014 9:32 pm

If the manual available as a PDF is the only one it was shit...I had a look before I answered...but yea..as alwayd Nowaysj is pretty spot on :)
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.
User avatar
fragments
 
Posts:
3552
Joined:
Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:24 pm
Location:
NEOhio

Postby mks » Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:00 am

I have never used this mixer, but notice that the onboard effects are post fader on send 1, while the aux is pre fader on send 2.

Image
User avatar
mks
 
Posts:
4145
Joined:
Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:35 am
Location:
Planet Earth

This forum is locked. Continue the discussion by creating a new topic on The New Dubstep Forum.

Return to Production, Hardware & Technical