help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Locked
shmurkle
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:36 pm

help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

Post by shmurkle » Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:17 am

basically, jumped at the chance to get some bm15p's for cheap, but i don't have an amp for them at the minute, I've read on gearslutz that a bryson amp is the best pairing for them, but as I'm in the uk and not a millionaire this doesn't seem to be an option for me atm.

someone mentioned these
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Behringer-Ultra ... 537&sr=1-1

i know they wouldn't get the very full amount from the bm15p but i'm just a little worried that I'm gonna have to spend 4 times what i spent on the monitors to get the full amount from these batboys, which I'm worried might be slightly ott for someone who's basically a bedroom producer.

i'm willing to throw maybe £300 at an amp, used or new really if theres anyone who could throe suggestions my way?

thanks in advance

shmurkle
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

Post by shmurkle » Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:30 pm

anybody?
even someone with knowledge on amps in general might be able to help me understand the basics of pairing an amp with monitors?

User avatar
Sharmaji
Posts: 5179
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:03 pm
Location: Brooklyn NYC
Contact:

Re: help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

Post by Sharmaji » Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:26 pm

There's tons of info on this on the interwebs; gearslutz alone has a bevy of info. 99.5% of the folks here have powered monitors.

get the best amperage that you can afford, and over-power your speakers-- makes the cones work less, gets you clearer transients, and just might save you some years on your gear.

Bryston's are lovely, but extremely expensive.

I use a refurbed 300-watt hafler to run my ns10s and absolutely love it. I've used a crown as a backup, not bad, a little mushier, but still punchy.

No need to buy new.
twitter.com/sharmabeats
twitter.com/SubSwara
subswara.com
myspace.com/davesharma
Low Motion Records, Soul Motive, TKG, Daly City, Mercury UK

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

Post by AxeD » Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:57 pm

Yeah I was thinking second hand Crown maybe?
Nice and high damping factor would be ideal. I think stuff from Crown is all low output impedance though, so you can't really go wrong with that.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

shmurkle
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: help pairing an amp to my dynaudio bm15p monitors

Post by shmurkle » Mon Jun 30, 2014 3:37 pm

what do you guys think of this one?

http://www.soundbasemegastore.com/pa-am ... yEhX_w_wcB

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests