Wrong frequency?

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:47 pm

Im analysing some samples i took from synths and whetever note i play the frequency most apparent in the spectrum analysis always seems to be the 1st overtone or 2nd harmonic... anyone know why that is?

so if i play c1 which should be 32.7hz the highest peaking frequency on the graph is actually 65.4hz (c2) :?

am i being really stupid and missing something obvious lol. im going crazy ive been working for like 2 days straight :u:
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

User avatar
mks
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by mks » Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:26 pm

That will change depending on the waveform you use. The spectral analysis of a trumpet will be much different than that of a cello. They will all produce different overtones. Those overtones/harmonics are what define the timbre of an instrument. Sorry I can't answer your specific question.

User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:52 pm

But surely the fundamental frequency should always be the loudest?
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

_Agu_
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by _Agu_ » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:46 pm

Does it happen with waveforms that certainly do have fundamental being louder than other harmonics (saw waves for example)? Also, what analyzer are you using?

VirtualMark
Posts: 1821
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 12:15 am
Location: UK

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by VirtualMark » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:56 pm

ezza wrote:But surely the fundamental frequency should always be the loudest?
Maybe not. It's the harmonics that give each instrument it's unique sound.

User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:57 pm

_Agu_ wrote:Does it happen with waveforms that certainly do have fundamental being louder than other harmonics (saw waves for example)? Also, what analyzer are you using?
Yeah it does

I've analysised Saw, Square and Triangle waves from each synth. And for all of them it always seem to show it as an octave up :?

Im using the spectrogram in Amadeus pro to analyse them
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

VirtualMark
Posts: 1821
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 12:15 am
Location: UK

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by VirtualMark » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:04 pm

Have you tried just a sine wave?

User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:29 pm

ok i think im just being a fucking retrard

if you play c1 on the logic keyboard and look at the multimeter the frequency IS 65.4hz so thats the same as what amadeus is showing

but on the interweb it sais c1 is 32.7hz http://www.seventhstring.com/resources/ ... ncies.html http://www.phy.mtu.edu/~suits/notefreqs.html

im so confused. i fucking hate music technology. this course cant end soon enough. never again :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry:

now my dissertation is fucking useless cus why the fuck would i record analog gear at c2. you'd obviously want a lower frequency tone to get all its goodness :u: :u:
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by fragments » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:05 pm

Maybe I'm missing something...but if the original sample isn't a C1 playing it at C1 is relative...right? If you record a C4 sample from a synth then play it in Logic's sampler at C1 that isn't necessarily really C1 right?

Lol...I'm lost as hell man, sorry.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:07 pm

yeah same

im just gonna cri and get drunk

fuck you c1
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by fragments » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:56 pm

Spoken like a true artist! ; p
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
mks
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by mks » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:21 am

fragments wrote:Maybe I'm missing something...but if the original sample isn't a C1 playing it at C1 is relative...right? If you record a C4 sample from a synth then play it in Logic's sampler at C1 that isn't necessarily really C1 right?

Lol...I'm lost as hell man, sorry.
This quite possibly may be the issue. If he sampled all of those tones, the keyboard may be playing them at a different octave.

_Agu_
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by _Agu_ » Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:19 am

I went to Logic and tried it with ES2, using only single saw wave, and fuck man.. It actually does play the wrong note. Playing C1 = you get C2. Playing C0 = you get C1. Same happened with Klopfgeist (Logic's sine wave generator).

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by AxeD » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:04 pm

Tone generator gave me the correct result and this other dodgy looking Logic synth on saw
did too:

Image

How did you sample the synths?
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

User avatar
ezza
THE POOREST
Posts: 9934
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:19 pm
Location: brizzy

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by ezza » Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:28 pm

they were wolfs and lyeforms synths so they did it for me

but they obviously did the same thing and matched it to logic

it seems for most people ive asked logic is actually an octave out

even though it and all its synths are spose to be tuned to A4 = 440hz :u: :u:
DiegoSapiens wrote:thats so industrial
soronery wrote:New low

User avatar
AxeD
Posts: 9361
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:10 pm
Location: Damstarem

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by AxeD » Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:31 pm

In Logic, middle C is c3 instead of c4. Does that have anything to do with it
by any chance? I'm just spitballing here, I'm not that familiar with the software myself.
Agent 47 wrote:Next time I can think of something, I will.

fragments
Posts: 3552
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:24 pm
Location: NEOhio
Contact:

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by fragments » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:35 pm

mks wrote:
fragments wrote:Maybe I'm missing something...but if the original sample isn't a C1 playing it at C1 is relative...right? If you record a C4 sample from a synth then play it in Logic's sampler at C1 that isn't necessarily really C1 right?

Lol...I'm lost as hell man, sorry.
This quite possibly may be the issue. If he sampled all of those tones, the keyboard may be playing them at a different octave.
OK. I thought that made sense in my head, but I'm like...only just technically minded enough to pretend I know what I'm doing in a studio... :lol:

I mean, even if you hit C1 on Logic's piano roll and send that MIDI out to a synth...does it automatically play C1 on the synth? That assumes both Logic and the synth agree on what C1 is.
SunkLo wrote: If ragging on the 'shortcut to the top' mentality makes me a hater then shower me in haterade.

User avatar
hubb
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: ÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅ

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by hubb » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:40 pm

melodyne bros
OGLemon wrote:cowabunga dude

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-music-of-moby
fragments wrote:SWEEEEEEEEE!

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-t ... o-sweeeeee
Johnlenham wrote:evil euroland

User avatar
hubb
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: ÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅÅ

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by hubb » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:47 pm

ezza wrote:ok i think im just being a fucking retrard

if you play c1 on the logic keyboard and look at the multimeter the frequency IS 65.4hz so thats the same as what amadeus is showing

but on the interweb it sais c1 is 32.7hz http://www.seventhstring.com/resources/ ... ncies.html http://www.phy.mtu.edu/~suits/notefreqs.html

im so confused. i fucking hate music technology. this course cant end soon enough. never again :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry: :corncry:

now my dissertation is fucking useless cus why the fuck would i record analog gear at c2. you'd obviously want a lower frequency tone to get all its goodness :u: :u:
Art schools are useless, most of the industry is monged out and the couses that are made to help out the thing being an industry in like the understanding of fitting people for jobs are more detrimental to the creativity than helpful.

This sucks ofcourse, but also explains why kids on drugs and pirated software are the ones that matter in this whole sphere - which is kind of beautiful.
OGLemon wrote:cowabunga dude

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-music-of-moby
fragments wrote:SWEEEEEEEEE!

https://soundcloud.com/qloo/cowabunga-t ... o-sweeeeee
Johnlenham wrote:evil euroland

User avatar
_ronzlo_
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: Wrong frequency?

Post by _ronzlo_ » Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:04 am

Google "Fletcher Munson curve".

Psychoacoustics is some crazy shit. I would suspect that the hardware might be biased by design.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests