splitting freq in reason

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
paddedcell
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:33 am
Location: london

splitting freq in reason

Post by paddedcell » Wed May 06, 2009 1:34 pm

im sure there is a better and easier way than the long arse way i do it! any body care to share their technique for this, or got a combi/rsn i can have a look at? much appreciated

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Wed May 06, 2009 2:22 pm

Okay, lets break down the task of building a frequency splitter combinator into several problems to be resolved.

1> The actual audio need to be split and summed back together again.

2> We ideally want control over the frequency bands that the audio is split into

3> We may want to have different ways of processing each frequency band (insert vs send effcts etc)

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Building the combinator:

1> Create the combi device!

2> Create a device to split the actual audio signal . Your otions include using the spider audio slitter/merger, or using a Mixer 14:2. Which device you decide on depends on how many frequency bands you need, your tolerance for keeping wires tidy and whether you want presplit gain control.

I'm going to use the Mixer 14:2 in this example, as it gives use several creative possibilities which I'll explain later.

Flip the rack around, and patch wires between the 'To Devices' output on the back of the combinator into the 'Channel 1' input. If the 'Master Output' auto routed into the 'From Devices' input on the back of the combinator, unwire it.

3> Create 4 Vocoders, set them all into FFT EQ mode using the two knobs on the left hand side. Name them 'Low', 'Low-mids', 'High-Mids' & 'High'.

4> Flip the rack around by hitting 'Tab' and wire all the 'Auxillary Send' outputs on the back of the mixer into the audio inputs for each of the vocoders.

5> This is where we need to make a decision about whether we want to process our audio with insert effects or send effects. I'm going to use send effects for this example as it gives us more flexibility.

6> Create a Line mixer under each vocoder, and label them according to the vocoder they sit under. Wire the output of each vocoder into the 'Channel 1' input on each line mixer.

7> Create another line mixer and label it 'Summing Device'. Wire the master ouput to the 'From Devices' input on the bottom right of the Combinator.

8> Wire the master output of each of the four mixers into channels 1 - 4 on the 'summing device' mixer.

9> Finally, we need to create the frequency bands that we want to split the audio with. On each vocoder, use the graphic eq bands to split the audio. Thus on the 'Lows' vocoder, leave only the first 5 bands untouched, and bring the rest of them to 0.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Creative tips:

A> By using the Auxillary sends on the Mixer 14:2, we can control the signal level being sent into each frequency band. You could tie these four knobs to the Combinator Rotaries for easier access.

B> We can use the mixer below each vocoder to send part of the signal to effects, or we can insert effects directly into the signal chain by attaching effects to the master output of each line mixer.

C> We have further processing opportunities when the signal is summed together again in the summing device mixer. We can either use the send controls on the mixer, or insert effects directly on the master output.

D> We can create kill switches for each frequency band by assigning the Combinator buttons 1- 4 to the 'bypass' switch on each of the vocoders. This makes working on each band easier, as you can mute the other bands quickly.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Have fun! :)

paddedcell
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:33 am
Location: london

Post by paddedcell » Wed May 06, 2009 2:27 pm

cheers for that much appreciated!

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

Here is the patch I've described above.

I personally find having a master filter more useful than having the input levels assigned to the Combinators rotaries. You can still adjust the input level for each frequency band by using the Channel 1 'Aux Send' controls on the Mixer 14:2.

FreqSplit - Frequency Splitter Combinator

Image

Download from here ---> http://www.mediafire.com/?hmnzhdv5zbz
Last edited by futures_untold on Wed May 06, 2009 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

paddedcell
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:33 am
Location: london

Post by paddedcell » Wed May 06, 2009 3:42 pm

thanks for that i had just made one up and saved it. lol

efx
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:34 pm

Post by efx » Wed May 06, 2009 7:19 pm

I always use the stereo imagers seperate output. Solo lo band set on the front and set the separate out for Hi band on the back, sum in a mixer. you can chain several of them too, splitting the frequency band into smaller and smaller pieces along the way. Works fine for me and that's how the default multiband compression patches work too, have a look at them and how they're wired up.. 8)

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Wed May 06, 2009 7:50 pm

efx wrote:I always use the stereo imagers seperate output. Solo lo band set on the front and set the separate out for Hi band on the back, sum in a mixer. you can chain several of them too, splitting the frequency band into smaller and smaller pieces along the way. Works fine for me and that's how the default multiband compression patches work too, have a look at them and how they're wired up.. 8)
That sounds like a great way of doing it, especially considering the parameters give value readings in Hz. This allows for precision! :)

I'm gunna go have a mess around now :)

User avatar
pets bud
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles (occupied Mexico)

Post by pets bud » Wed May 06, 2009 7:54 pm

What are you guys splitting with this? Is it just to separate your subs from the kicks and the mids or are there other ways to implement this?
Soundcloud
Image
Im not saying im number one, oh sorry I lied, im number 1,2,3,4 and phive...

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Wed May 06, 2009 8:04 pm

petS buD wrote:What are you guys splitting with this? Is it just to separate your subs from the kicks and the mids or are there other ways to implement this?
Some people like to layer their effects by frequency on any individual sound. The obvious one is bass, where you can compress the low end with no effects, but put effects on the mid & high bands.

But there are some funky Spektral Delay type uses too ;)

User avatar
pets bud
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles (occupied Mexico)

Post by pets bud » Wed May 06, 2009 8:16 pm

Can't wait to play with this. :D Thanks for the combi!!!
Soundcloud
Image
Im not saying im number one, oh sorry I lied, im number 1,2,3,4 and phive...

User avatar
eastern electrics
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:30 am
Contact:

Post by eastern electrics » Wed May 06, 2009 8:44 pm

Futures Untold´s postings :?: -> usefull each and every time :!:
______________________
G-G-G-Gin Tonic !!!
Image Image

Brisance
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Brisance » Wed May 06, 2009 8:55 pm

Eastern Electrics wrote:Futures Untold´s postings :?: -> usefull each and every time :!:
lies

User avatar
yamaz
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Pluto

Re: splitting freq in reason

Post by yamaz » Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:32 pm

If you have a combi with 3 this or maelstrom or subtraktors, couldn't you set the filter in each one to be low, mid, high? Is it just harder to get 3 nice freq cuts this way?

Is the point of this to split one single instrument into. 3 bands? ....Don't most people use the 3 instrument combi approach?
"The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time."
-Jack Kerouac
Soundcloud

User avatar
ninjadog
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re:

Post by ninjadog » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:55 pm

futures_untold wrote:Here is the patch I've described above.

I personally find having a master filter more useful than having the input levels assigned to the Combinators rotaries. You can still adjust the input level for each frequency band by using the Channel 1 'Aux Send' controls on the Mixer 14:2.

FreqSplit - Frequency Splitter Combinator

Image

Download from here ---> http://www.mediafire.com/?hmnzhdv5zbz
Will that work for 3.0?

User avatar
step correct
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:14 pm
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: splitting freq in reason

Post by step correct » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:16 pm

So, say I've split my bass this way.. I've cut the low end, slap the compresser right underneath that or would an overall compresser work on another sends? :cry:

Freshman
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Meppel, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: splitting freq in reason

Post by Freshman » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:49 pm

Just wanted to say thanks for the information in this thread, really useful!!

@step correct; i just experimented a bit with this, and to me it sounds like it's best to compress the low-end only ye...
Can anyone confirm this? i want to know this for sure

User avatar
kejk
Posts: 1901
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:51 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: splitting freq in reason

Post by kejk » Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:48 am

Freshman wrote:Just wanted to say thanks for the information in this thread, really useful!!

@step correct; i just experimented a bit with this, and to me it sounds like it's best to compress the low-end only ye...
Can anyone confirm this? i want to know this for sure
I usually don't compress my bass. Try messing a bit with the gain levels first, since compressors kill your dynamics. You could compress whatever you think sounds nice though, there are no rules.

I can't remember how long ago I started with freq splitting, but it's the best thing ever. Reverb on high's only is great.
paravrais wrote:It genuinely was a couple of years before I realised it was pronounced re-noise not ren-wah :i:

Freshman
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Meppel, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: splitting freq in reason

Post by Freshman » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:17 am

Cheers kejk!!
Yesterday i've worked with it for the first time, but it feels like splitting gives one more freedom in creativity. like you said reverbs only on high's etc.. :mrgreen:

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by futures_untold » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:30 pm

ninjadog wrote:
futures_untold wrote:Here is the patch I've described above.

I personally find having a master filter more useful than having the input levels assigned to the Combinators rotaries. You can still adjust the input level for each frequency band by using the Channel 1 'Aux Send' controls on the Mixer 14:2.

FreqSplit - Frequency Splitter Combinator

Image

Download from here ---> http://www.mediafire.com/?hmnzhdv5zbz
Will that work for 3.0?
Yup ;)

User avatar
ENZA
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 2:26 am
Contact:

Re:

Post by ENZA » Wed May 05, 2010 1:30 pm

futures_untold wrote:Okay, lets break down the task of building a frequency splitter combinator into several problems to be resolved.

1> The actual audio need to be split and summed back together again.

2> We ideally want control over the frequency bands that the audio is split into

3> We may want to have different ways of processing each frequency band (insert vs send effcts etc)

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Building the combinator:

1> Create the combi device!

2> Create a device to split the actual audio signal . Your otions include using the spider audio slitter/merger, or using a Mixer 14:2. Which device you decide on depends on how many frequency bands you need, your tolerance for keeping wires tidy and whether you want presplit gain control.

I'm going to use the Mixer 14:2 in this example, as it gives use several creative possibilities which I'll explain later.

Flip the rack around, and patch wires between the 'To Devices' output on the back of the combinator into the 'Channel 1' input. If the 'Master Output' auto routed into the 'From Devices' input on the back of the combinator, unwire it.

3> Create 4 Vocoders, set them all into FFT EQ mode using the two knobs on the left hand side. Name them 'Low', 'Low-mids', 'High-Mids' & 'High'.

4> Flip the rack around by hitting 'Tab' and wire all the 'Auxillary Send' outputs on the back of the mixer into the audio inputs for each of the vocoders.

5> This is where we need to make a decision about whether we want to process our audio with insert effects or send effects. I'm going to use send effects for this example as it gives us more flexibility.

6> Create a Line mixer under each vocoder, and label them according to the vocoder they sit under. Wire the output of each vocoder into the 'Channel 1' input on each line mixer.

7> Create another line mixer and label it 'Summing Device'. Wire the master ouput to the 'From Devices' input on the bottom right of the Combinator.

8> Wire the master output of each of the four mixers into channels 1 - 4 on the 'summing device' mixer.

9> Finally, we need to create the frequency bands that we want to split the audio with. On each vocoder, use the graphic eq bands to split the audio. Thus on the 'Lows' vocoder, leave only the first 5 bands untouched, and bring the rest of them to 0.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Creative tips:

A> By using the Auxillary sends on the Mixer 14:2, we can control the signal level being sent into each frequency band. You could tie these four knobs to the Combinator Rotaries for easier access.

B> We can use the mixer below each vocoder to send part of the signal to effects, or we can insert effects directly into the signal chain by attaching effects to the master output of each line mixer.

C> We have further processing opportunities when the signal is summed together again in the summing device mixer. We can either use the send controls on the mixer, or insert effects directly on the master output.

D> We can create kill switches for each frequency band by assigning the Combinator buttons 1- 4 to the 'bypass' switch on each of the vocoders. This makes working on each band easier, as you can mute the other bands quickly.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Have fun! :)
:z:

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests