The FL Studio Q&A Thread

hardware, software, tips and tricks
Forum rules
By using this "Production" sub-forum, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and agreed with our terms of use for this site. Click HERE to read them. If you do not agree to our terms of use, you must exit this site immediately. We do not accept any responsibility for the content, submissions, information or links contained herein. Users posting content here, do so completely at their own risk.

Quick Link to Feedback Forum
Locked
User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

The FL Studio Q&A Thread

Post by futures_untold » Sun May 31, 2009 4:21 pm

The FL Studio Questions & Answers Thread

This thread has been created to discuss FL Studio. Feel free to post any questions or tips you have regarding FL Studio below. Links to useful Fruity related resources and tutorials appreciated! :)

----------------------------------------------------------------

Fruity Forums

Official Forum - http://forum.image-line.com/

The Flipside - http://www.theflipsideforum.com/index.php

----------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by futures_untold on Sun May 31, 2009 5:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
MidnightMassDubstep
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Better Known as Fixxa

Post by MidnightMassDubstep » Sun May 31, 2009 4:35 pm

You can adjust the velocity of notes without going into the piano roll, just click the channel you want and in the top right corner of the step editor click the velocity editor, and brap brap.

Only learnt this like, a week before I stopped using fruity, ahaha
http://soundcloud.com/fixxa
Image
Badman Juice wrote:what is a funt and why does it need a case?

soner one
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 3:18 am
Location: Croydon

Post by soner one » Sun May 31, 2009 4:56 pm

When editing the LFO of the cutoff filter try out the Scale levels tweaking the Tension/muiltyply/offset

glottis5
Posts: 932
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:33 am
Contact:

Post by glottis5 » Sun May 31, 2009 5:50 pm

Turn on Legacy Precomputed Effects in Settings > General

It just gives you a couple of simple effects in your sampler, (stuff like low pass filter, crappy reverb and simple amp) but it's really useful

humancond1tion
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:08 pm

Post by humancond1tion » Sun May 31, 2009 5:55 pm

How do you sidechain in fruity.. and how do you bus 2 tracks together.. e.g. for a vocoder

User avatar
antics
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:26 pm

Post by antics » Sun May 31, 2009 6:01 pm

1. Having made your percussion tracks send them all to the same channel so that you can you only have to move one mixer to change their volume relative to the others...

2. Select a hi hat noise on a sampler, then open up the paino key thing (not piano role) and then by hand draw a sine wave esk shape to get a more flowing hi hat... (The same could be done with an LFO on the pitch setting but i've never tried that)

3. Keep your folders organised... regroup all the original sounds by drum instead of group...

4. Make a new template for when you want to get a tune going quickly or mess about...

User avatar
MidnightMassDubstep
Posts: 707
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Better Known as Fixxa

Post by MidnightMassDubstep » Sun May 31, 2009 6:04 pm

humancond1tion wrote:How do you sidechain in fruity.. and how do you bus 2 tracks together.. e.g. for a vocoder
To sidechain, set up a peak controller on the effects of the kick or whatever you want to stay at a constant level, and then a fruity balance on the track you want sidechained. Then, on the volume controller on the fruity balance, link controller to the "peak" on the peak controller.
Sorry, a little bit vague, but you'll figure it out.
http://soundcloud.com/fixxa
Image
Badman Juice wrote:what is a funt and why does it need a case?

User avatar
antics
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:26 pm

Post by antics » Sun May 31, 2009 6:05 pm


soner one
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 3:18 am
Location: Croydon

Post by soner one » Sun May 31, 2009 6:17 pm

How do you sidechain in fruity..
Image Image Hosting

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Sun May 31, 2009 7:24 pm

Some good FL Tutorials courtesy of DZA! :) ---> http://www.youtube.com/user/AcePincter

User avatar
DZA
Posts: 14609
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Notts
Contact:

Post by DZA » Sun May 31, 2009 7:26 pm

futures_untold wrote:Some good FL Tutorials courtesy of DZA! :) ---> http://www.youtube.com/user/AcePincter
:x Stealing my link
jackmaster wrote:you went in with this mix.
.onelove. wrote:There needs to be a DZA app on iPhone just for id'ing old Grime tracks.
Soundcloud
http://soundcloud.com/keepitgully http://www.mixcloud.com/slevarance/

User avatar
futures_untold
Posts: 4429
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by futures_untold » Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 pm

The_Dza88 wrote:
futures_untold wrote:Some good FL Tutorials courtesy of DZA! :) ---> http://www.youtube.com/user/AcePincter
:x Stealing my link
Just a little trick I picked up in this excellent manual that you recommended to us.

Image

-w-

User avatar
DZA
Posts: 14609
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:43 pm
Location: Notts
Contact:

Post by DZA » Sun May 31, 2009 7:35 pm

Fuck youve got me there :oops:
jackmaster wrote:you went in with this mix.
.onelove. wrote:There needs to be a DZA app on iPhone just for id'ing old Grime tracks.
Soundcloud
http://soundcloud.com/keepitgully http://www.mixcloud.com/slevarance/

User avatar
5-0-what
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 6:40 pm

Post by 5-0-what » Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:48 pm

use the clip area instead of the little blocks makes your work go way faster
JBE wrote:Just to let everyone know, Dubstep should now be 130 bpm, as this is the new FL default.
add me on http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/fiveohhwhat
add me on http://www.myspace.com/5-0-what
Soundcloud
for booking info call me
503-915-1390
Peace and Dubs
From the northwestern quadrant

jsilver
Posts: 1164
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Post by jsilver » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:32 am

big up on the acephincter link, guy knows what hes talkin about

User avatar
gh02
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:33 pm
Location: Manc

Post by gh02 » Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:00 pm

five-ohh-what wrote:use the clip area instead of the little blocks makes your work go way faster
hmmm any chance of an elaboration (for da nation) ?




:roll:

User avatar
legend4ry
Posts: 10589
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:56 am
Location: Woolwich
Contact:

Post by legend4ry » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:09 pm

GH02 wrote:
five-ohh-what wrote:use the clip area instead of the little blocks makes your work go way faster
hmmm any chance of an elaboration (for da nation) ?




:roll:
This is for FL8 and beyond, in the playlist /sequencer area there is 2 places you can input your pattens - in the blocks (where it has patten 1 - 0290329 going down) or the blank canvas where the automation clips go..you can put your pattens and audio clips there.
Soulstep wrote: My point is i just wanna hear more vibes
Soundcloud

User avatar
5-0-what
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 6:40 pm

Post by 5-0-what » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:53 pm

ok this is a shot of one of my old tracks before i learned to use clips area

Image




and this is one of my newer ones with all my patterns are in the clips area

Image


Legendary wrote:
GH02 wrote:
five-ohh-what wrote:use the clip area instead of the little blocks makes your work go way faster
hmmm any chance of an elaboration (for da nation) ?




:roll:
This is for FL8 and beyond, in the playlist /sequencer area there is 2 places you can input your pattens - in the blocks (where it has patten 1 - 0290329 going down) or the blank canvas where the automation clips go..you can put your pattens and audio clips there.

i think i remember someone in here saying that it has been something you have been able to do in fl since fl7
JBE wrote:Just to let everyone know, Dubstep should now be 130 bpm, as this is the new FL default.
add me on http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/fiveohhwhat
add me on http://www.myspace.com/5-0-what
Soundcloud
for booking info call me
503-915-1390
Peace and Dubs
From the northwestern quadrant

User avatar
5-0-what
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 6:40 pm

Post by 5-0-what » Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:02 pm

oh by the way this is a great idea thank to futures untold for the new topic


sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky
sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky
sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky
sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky
sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky sticky
JBE wrote:Just to let everyone know, Dubstep should now be 130 bpm, as this is the new FL default.
add me on http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/fiveohhwhat
add me on http://www.myspace.com/5-0-what
Soundcloud
for booking info call me
503-915-1390
Peace and Dubs
From the northwestern quadrant

jsilver
Posts: 1164
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Post by jsilver » Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:14 pm

Legendary wrote:
GH02 wrote:
five-ohh-what wrote:use the clip area instead of the little blocks makes your work go way faster
hmmm any chance of an elaboration (for da nation) ?




:roll:
This is for FL8 and beyond, in the playlist /sequencer area there is 2 places you can input your pattens - in the blocks (where it has patten 1 - 0290329 going down) or the blank canvas where the automation clips go..you can put your pattens and audio clips there.
yeah but WHY is it fasta

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests